We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“3.5 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3.5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Good value for the price. Our room was not quite as clean as it could have been, and the front desk quickly arranged a replacement room that was clean and comfortable. The room with the king size bed felt smaller than the room with 2 queen beds, so if space is important, consider the double queen room. In previous stays, we have found the pool to be good, but did not use it this time. Located next to the interstate, but traffic makes it a bit tricky to get to the hotel. As always with Comfort Inns, watch for the extra charge for the in-room safe. If not used, it can be deducted at checkout.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srwhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
58
37
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha. NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Sadly, I don't know what to expect from Comfort Suites anymore. It used to be one of the first hotels we would look for when traveling. We have several kids, and like the fact that we can book one room to accommodate us all for a decent price. Plus, the hotels were always clean, fairly nice, and family friendly.

Not so much with this one. The hotel is quite average. Our room was clean but the beds were very messy when we got here. Literally, it looked as though someone had thrown the comforter on the bed and left it there. I thought that the room hadn't been cleaned after the previous group had left, but the other rooms I looked at were made up the same way. The room was also quite a bit smaller than other Comfort Suites in which we've stayed.

There was no carafe in my room for the coffee pot. While this is a small detail, since they have breakfast in the morning, it still kept me from having a cup of coffee after dinner (which I enjoy). Just one more notch against the hotel.

The pool needs serious attention. It's clearly an older hotel, and the tiling on the side of the pool is coming away from the pool itself, which had been "fixed" with caulking of some sort. The tiles on the floor surrounding the pool need work, too. My daughter tripped and fell while walking to the pool, which left a pretty good sized scratch on her thigh. (I saw it happen, and she was definitely not running.) The water was very cold, it was a bit deeper than stated, and there were no stairs on which smaller kids could play. There was a ladder, though, so bigger/older folks could get in and out comfortably. The pool was definitely not very family friendly, though.

The beds were comfortable but unremarkable. The room itself was pretty quiet, but we could hear our neighbors as they woke up and showered in the morning. There were some items in the bathroom that needed some maintenance, but again had been repaired with caulking.

Breakfast was decent, and the staff did a great job keeping everything stocked. The staff was probably the highlight of the stay, in fact. They were all very friendly and helped in any way they could.

All in all, I would not say this hotel is on par with other Comfort Suites in which I've stayed. It felt more like a discount motel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AF_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

The staff was great and super nice and clean. The hotel is very close to everything you could ever need.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevint23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a well-kept 2 star hotel, not much in the way of amenities but if you are traveling on business and don't need a high-end fancy hotel, it is just fine. No problems and the staff was nice, the breakfast food typical Comfort Suites. It is close to Highway 29 so if you are traveling that way it works well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_S_Caja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windyfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip. It is a typical Comfort Inn with decent maintenance, friendly service and wasn't noisy during the week. I didn't use any of the hotel amenities but the pool is pretty small so would only be OK for kids to cool off. It's about 1 minute to Highway 29 so it's a good place to fly in late at night and travel early in the morning. All of this was even better since the price was easy on the expense account.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Excellent breakfast, comfortable room and good location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastornpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Booked a double bed suite for the Sunday of the 4th of July weekend and the hotel was not very full so we got a very good rate.
This hotel is very close to the main I-29 exit at 41st near the Empire Mall, which is the main commercial area in Sioux Falls. But there are at least 15 other hotels within a two block radius of this spot, including at least two newer and probably better hotels, but for the price this hotel serves its purpose.
This is your plain basic two to two and a half star hotel with nothing really fancier than that.
Since the rooms are 'suites' you get a mini-fridge with a microwave and coffee maker...plus you get a couch (more like a large love seat) that has an extra pull out bed....so you could get six people in here with no problem.
The hotel itself is fine...it's clean and the rooms are just enough to get by with nothing that makes it stand out.
You can tell hotels are really getting hit hard in the down economy....they have cut back on many things to save money and this hotel is a class example of that.
The bathroom amenities of soap, shampoo and conditioner are barely enough for two people to use....they are very small portions. There was no daily paper delivered to the room, although there may have been copies down at the front desk...this is just one thing that a hotel that cares about its customers would provide right to the room and this one didn't.
There was no pen or paper in the room...another cutback. This is the only hotel I've stayed at in year that didn't have pen and paper in the room. Big mistake.
They also didn't even have the plastic bag that goes with the dry cleaning. We use that for dirty clothes many times and this hotel didn't have that.
I'm fairly certain in an up economy all this would be available to guests but it seems like cutbacks to save money cost guests these items that most travelers are used to. And because of the cheapness, I'm not going to recommend this hotel.
The room was okay sized but seemed a little cramped with the two beds and sofa....it was a suite with not a lot of extra room.
The beds were not quite as comfortable as some of the slightly higher rated hotels. Our comforters were both slightly stained but not as gross as I was expecting. The carpets did seem like they could use a good cleaning.
Bathroom was bright with a decent vanity, good working toilet and a heat lamp, which a lot of hotels omit these days. The shower had no liner so some of the water got onto the floor when my kids showered. The shower head was a cheap home quality shower head but the massager worked. The hot water was not very hot.
Free breakfast was okay. They had a decent, albeit not large, selection. Two hot items included make-it-yourself waffles, which were quite good. But the room was not restocked and we had to scavenge to find extra utensils, syrup and other items. There were only 8 small tables in the room and with a full hotel, this area would have been way too overstuffed to get inside, let alone get enough food. There's an IHOP not too far away if that happens.
The pool was very small but was okay for two kids if nobody else was there. There was a working hot tub but it was not very hot. There's also a small workout room with what looks like okay equipment.
Yes! There was free in-room wireless internet....at least they didn't skimp on that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South
Quality Inn & Suites South
#40 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
#23 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#15 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#7 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 3208 S. Carolyn Ave., Sioux Falls, SD 57106-0727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sioux Falls
Comfort Suites Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing