We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just looking for a place to sleep”
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were just looking for a place to sleep. The positive, the breakfast was decent and the hot tub was nice. The negative, I'm not sure if they recently shampooed or what the problem was, but the floor of our room felt damp and the room smelled musty. The pool needed to be cleaned. The staff was friendly. I rated the room poor because of the floor/room smell.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirmanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Well the negative reviews I have read span over several years. It's too bad that nothing has changed! Worst hotel we have ever stayed in! I have stayed in several ChoiceHotels this year and was shocked by the condition of this place. I called Choice to let them know what this place is like and that they should be embarrassed to have this hotel under their name!!! Check in took 30 minutes, the girl at the desk just kept saying "I am new here...I don't know how to do that." The lock on the outside door was broken so anyone could walk in and out all night long. Our room smelled of mold and stale cigarettes. There was dried urine on the toilet, obviously not cleaned from the guest before. Holes in the wall in the bathroom and the shower curtain dangling from the wall, couldn't close it at all. Water pressure non existent in the shower. Alarm clock and smoke detectors broken. It was just GROSS! We didn't check in until 10:30 p.m. after traveling all day and would have normally complained to the front desk but all we wanted to do was sleep and get up and leave. We were leery about sleeping on the beds since it was clear that they didn't clean the room. I also felt that "we get what we pay for" but then I changed my mind. I paid for a decent place to rest and I did not receive that! I wish I would have read up on this place before I booked it. I was looking for something close to the Interstate and I just assumed that any ChoiceHotel would be decent...I was wrong.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel! Disgusting!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brookeekstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this place as a stop over on our way home from a lenghty trip. As such, I looked for cheap, an boy o boy did I get it.
First the good: Close to the Intersate, close to a Perkins, Arbys, McDonalds and gas stations, and the girl who checked us in (On the evening of July 11th) was very friendly and helpful.
The bad: This place reeked....badly. The hallways smelled old and musty, the pool was tiny and was full of debris(Its an indoor pool, how does it get full of stuff?!?). The room, while admittedly spacious, was old, tired, smelled funny, and I was a little reticent to even take my shoes off. The carpets were that gross, and the A/C, which was set for "Max" was blowing warm air. Boy was that an uncomfortable night.
We set our alarm clock for 7am...By 7:15am were were packed, checked out, and back on the interstate. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.
Be warned. And believe the crappy reviews on here. This place needs a big overhaul.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very cheap. Didn't expect fancy, and figured building/furnishings would be dated and simple, but did hope for clean. Hair on sheets and towels. Filthy under bed. Nightstands not wiped down. Very old, uncomfortable, springy bed. Halls wreak of smoke. Evening front desk person not very nice. I expected slim choices for continental breakfast, and that's ok, but they didn't even keep that stocked or clean. "Pool" is size of large hot tub. Had reservation to stay 2 nites. Lost out on $ and just left (no way I could stay another night - contemplated sleeping in car 1st night).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staff waited to tell me that the pool and hot tub were out of service until AFTER I had registered. Non-smoking room had pillows which smelled of smoke.Staff provided fresh replacements. Bed was reasonably comfortable and room was clean but noisy for various reasons. Back entrance is not secured, as mentioned by other reviewers. Continental breakfast was basic but a waffle maker was available. Those wishing a more substantial breakfast will find fast food and a family restaurant within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: One of the homes behind the hotel keeps peacocks/peahens. These birds can be very loud, even in the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here after driving 12 plus hours hoping to avoid a storm.
The counter woman was very helpful and friendly
I told the counter woman that all i wanted was a hot bath and a good bed. That is what we got.
The breakfast was good, the room clean. Nothing fancy, but it worked fine for our purposes.
The price was good.
good location
I did not like the unlocked back entry, and the lounge area there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahinegammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room was ok, the shower head was detachable which I do not like. When i was walking down the hall to breakfast there was someone sleeping on a couch on the hallway, it was kinda freaky, I let the front desk know and they got rid of him. I did like the outside entry next to our room. Makes it easy when you are travelling with pets. I would stay again. Its very convenient to the highway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM11022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#20 of 53 in Sioux Falls
341 reviews
5.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Sioux Falls
WoodSpring Suites Sioux Falls
#45 of 53 in Sioux Falls
21 reviews
3.8 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 53 in Sioux Falls
186 reviews
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Sioux Falls
Days Inn Sioux Falls
#33 of 53 in Sioux Falls
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Address: 5100 N Cliff Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-0596 (Formerly Comfort Inn North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range: $48 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing