We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Everything was wonderful from making the reservation, check in, comfort and cleanliness of our room, right on to the delicious breakfast with a very hospitable hostess! This us what a hotel stay should be like!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property. I greatly appreciate your feedback. I hope you have a great Labor Day!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
32
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Howard, Colorado
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel is just perfect for the average traveler. The welcome at the front desk gets you started off as though you have been staying at this hotel for years!!! The room is well appointed with an extremely comfortable king bed. The room was clean in every way. The indoor pool and hot tub really tops off a long day on the road. The morning breakfast has everything that any discriminating travel could want. From the perspective of the breakfast, this hotel really kicked it up notch - lots of hot food choices along with cereals and fruit. The overall experience was fabulous. Give this hotel a try - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for the "top notch" review! I surely appreciate it and I'll make sure to share your comments with my staff. Thank you!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 227 for one night on August 28, 2014. It was a suite with a king bed, sofa and small kitchen area with refrigerator and microwave. The room was very spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel is in a good location - close to a theater, mall and Interstate. The breakfast was very good and had lots of options including scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit, milk, juices etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: Our room was on the north side of the hotel and it was very quiet. Based on the location of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I will make sure to share your comments with our head housekeeper and her staff! Thank you!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We brought several teams from our basketball program from Minnesota to stay at this hotel. We played at the Sanford Pentagon which was about 10-12 minutes down the highway. This hotel is conveniently located near every restaurant ever created (just kidding, but there are a TON of options), the highway, gas stations, and the mall. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. When we checked in, we needed a handicap accessible room that wasn't selected when we booked, they were able to fit our grandparents into an appropriate room. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The hotel overall was fantastic, there were two buildings - just lots of space. The elevators are a little slow, but that isn't enough to deter you from staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a great hotel!! It was clean, modern, the breakfast was wonderful!! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool and hot tub area was spacious and well kept! We will definitely stay here again when passing through!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! Your comments mean a lot to our staff, owners and future guests! I appreciate that you took the time to review our property. Have a wonderful weekend!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff here is amazing! Thank you for being so wonderful! Hotel is clean and located within walking distance to the Empire Mall, Outback Steakhouse, Movie Theater, Cracker Barrel and several other places to eat. I would choose this hotel over and over again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbiffswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I really appreciate the WONDERFUL comments and I will make sure to share them with my staff. We strive to make sure every guest leaves here satisfied! Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! We can't wait to see you again!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. It's situated a couple blocks from the mall but within walking distance to some nice restaurants and shopping. I didn't eat there but the breakfast looked pretty typical, breads, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee some hot hot foods also. The beds were really comfortable. There were some rambunctious kids on my floor but overall it was quiet throughout the stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaic_Camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I appreciate that you took time out of your day to review our hotel.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
#19 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
#4 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#16 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
#25 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Address: 2501 S Shirley Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, a city rich in history and a regional hub for corporate and retail services. The history of Sioux Falls revolves around the cascades of the Big Sioux River. The falls were created approximately 14,000 years ago when the last glacial ice sheet redirected the flow of the Big Sioux River. With our hotel's convenient location, you will find us easily accessible to many attractions such as the Empire Mall, Sertoma Butterfly House and Outdoor Campus, Falls Park, the Washington Pavilion and Wild Water West Amusement Park. We are also conveniently located by many restaurants such as Ruby Tuesday and corporate locations such as banks, hospitals, Joe Foss Field Airport, and the Ivy Room Conference Center. Our hotel offers limited shuttle service to the airport and other corporate locations. While in Sioux Falls, make sure to sit along the banks of the mighty Big Sioux River at Falls Park, our city's namesake. While there you can check out the Horse Barn Art Gallery and Falls Park Tower. Welcome to Sioux Falls, the heart of America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing