We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. It's situated a couple blocks from the mall but within walking distance to some nice restaurants and shopping. I didn't eat there but the breakfast looked pretty typical, breads, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee some hot hot foods also. The beds were really comfortable. There were some rambunctious kids on my floor but overall it was quiet throughout the stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaic_Camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I appreciate that you took time out of your day to review our hotel.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    51
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
32
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Even though the first of our 3 nights was not stellar the staff accommodated us very well and the remaining stay was flawless. Can not say enough good things about the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the property. Excellent location with good food within walking distance and shopping nearby. Complimentary breakfast was better quality than most. We were so satisfied that we stayed again on our way back thru the area. A definate "stay there again" for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to hear that even though your first night was not perfect, we were able to make up for it the rest of your stay. I appreciate your business!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were traveling through the area and only stayed one night but it was terrific! I stay in alot of HIE due to work discount and this is one of the best. I mentioned to the clerk at check-in that our previous night was horrible because of kid groups, so he put us in the back, quiet area, and on the top floor as we requested. It was wonderful! The room was just what we expected, very clean. The free breakfast was one of the best I've seen, so many choices and so much room to sit! The staff member brought us out some fresh eggs, and was so kind. When I checked out, I asked if this was a new place because it seemed like it, the clerk said 'no', but that the owners do a great job of staying on top of things. It shows, very nice place and I would stay here again in a heartbeat! It was also close to so many places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLH7299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! The items you mentioned that you love are why many of us choose to work here. Wonderful owners, caring staff, a clean safe property - it's what we expect and what we strive to provide to every customer! Thank you for choosing our hotel!

Mellanie Larson
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Clean comfortable room. Price was good. Plenty of very good places to eat within walking distance. Staff very helpful and friendly
Will definitely stop here again when going through again. Breakfast was also very well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sluggerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to return visit!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was excellent, rooms and common areas were clean, bed was comfortable, pillows were great. Staff did a really good job, the breakfast staff really were on the ball, as crowded as that breakfast area was, they never ran out of anything and everything was stocked.

This hotel is in an excellent location, near shopping, restaurants, and bars, many within walking distance. This hotel is also very close to the Interstate highway.

There is nothing to complain about with this hotel, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay here again no questions asked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the raving review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Sioux Falls! I greatly appreciate your comments! Have a great fourth of July!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We've been staying at this property for at least 8 years, and have been very pleased each time. Clean, comfortable, bright rooms with decent beds make for a good nights rest. It's also a very quiet building (compared to some of the newly constructed hotels). The staff is efficient, although not overly friendly...but they get the job done. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I appreciate your business and hope you visit Sioux Falls again soon. Have a great summer!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed here several times as a participant in the Siouxland Renaissance Fair. The rooms are nice and fairly quiet. The breakfast is good but gets a bit crowded on the weekends and it is hard for the servers to keep up. The hotel is close to many good restaurants. The staff have always been very nice, even with the bunch of odd fellows that make up any Ren Fair,

Room Tip: ask for the main building if you want to be close to the pool or breakfast, otherwise it is quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express! I appreciate the business and I look forward to next year's festival!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
#19 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#16 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
#5 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Address: 2501 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4324 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, a city rich in history and a regional hub for corporate and retail services. The history of Sioux Falls revolves around the cascades of the Big Sioux River. The falls were created approximately 14,000 years ago when the last glacial ice sheet redirected the flow of the Big Sioux River. With our hotel's convenient location, you will find us easily accessible to many attractions such as the Empire Mall, Sertoma Butterfly House and Outdoor Campus, Falls Park, the Washington Pavilion and Wild Water West Amusement Park. We are also conveniently located by many restaurants such as Ruby Tuesday and corporate locations such as banks, hospitals, Joe Foss Field Airport, and the Ivy Room Conference Center. Our hotel offers limited shuttle service to the airport and other corporate locations. While in Sioux Falls, make sure to sit along the banks of the mighty Big Sioux River at Falls Park, our city's namesake. While there you can check out the Horse Barn Art Gallery and Falls Park Tower. Welcome to Sioux Falls, the heart of America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing