We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent four nights and have to say the hotel was wonderful. The staff from front desk to cleaning crew were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh. There were plenty of places to sit and relax throughout the hotel. Our kids really enjoyed the pool and spa. And we made good use of the weight machine & tread mills/elipticals in the exercise room. The complimentary breakfast was terrific and included hot food like eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, etc. Staff made sure food & drinks were freshly stocked. The day before leaving we did laundry and were surprised to find complimentary washers & dryers. And finally, we used the business area to print our boarding passes. The hotel had everything we needed. We have stayed other places in the area but we will definitely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express again on our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing our property for your four day stay! I appreciate all the wonderful comments! I hope you had a great flight home and we hope to see you again!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    57
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
33
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went with my wife and nephews while going to badlands.

Free breakfast was good. Very close to several shops and coffee places.

Great room with plasma TV. I think it was renovated recently and everything was clean and new.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property! I'm glad you had a great visit and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your South Dakota vacation!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Overall, this property was pretty decent. Nothing really wrong with it but I like newer properties with updated amenities which is why I didn't rate this one higher. I had a standard room, queen size bed. My room was very small but for 1 person and for only 1 night it worked fine. If I had kids or was staying longer then 1-2 nights I'd want a larger room. The room was clean and in good shape. I used the business center to print something and it worked great which was nice as all too often printers in the business centers are broken. The hotel is conveniently located off I-29 with many restaurants close by (Ruby Tuesday right across the street).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad you found our property clean and everything in working order. I am excited to let you know that we will replacing all of our case goods in the late fall! Thank you, Mellanie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed in. It was spotless with current decor. The staff was very friendly and service-oriented (walked us to the elevator). The breakfast was the best complimentary one we have ever had. The food was great, displayed well, and restocked quickly, and the area clean and spacious. The design of the hotel was so nice--multiple seating areas perfect for groups, and the recessed sofa area in the room made the room seem more spacious than most rooms we have stayed in. The bed was so comfortable and fluffy. While we didn't plan to do laundry there, the facilities came in handy after a spill in the car! Complimentary washers? That was the nicest surprise ever!! The pool and hot tub were beautiful. The location was perfect for a quick stop. It was the perfect place to end a long day of driving. Thank you so much, HIE!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Kristi,

Thank you for such a nice review of our property! I greatly appreciate it and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Thank you,

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, but I really enjoyed my three-night stay at this one. I would definitely return/recommend.

It was impeccably clean (which is always my number one hotel concern) and the staff was so accommodating one would think they were staying at a 5-star hotel. I love the 24/7 coffee and tea availability. I'm very picky about hotel breakfasts and didn't try the eggs/sausage/bacon/cinnamon rolls stuff, but the coffee, fresh fruit and oatmeal was just fine for me.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the wi-fi was really fast (and free). I have no complaints.

There's a TGIFridays right across the parking lot and a steak and seafood place right behind the HI Express, and there are other dining choices nearby. I didn't try any of them, but there's something for everyone in the area. I recommend it.

Room Tip: The location was fine as far as I'm concerned -- those of you who are traveling to shop at the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O2BCyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I'll make sure tell hang your comment for our housekeeping department to read! Today is Holiday Inn's 60th Anniversary, so reading this review was the topping on our cake!

Mellanie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express was very nice. Rooms were good sized very clean, very new. Very quiet room. There were many different sitting areas for people to gather at. Which I think kept the halls quieter. Good breakfast and area to eat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esmith1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our facility! I appreciate your business and your time! Have a great day!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was perfect. The location was perfect u did not have to go far for shopping or to eat. And the breakfast was AMAZING. The rooms were nice and the workers who help us check in were so friendly. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haley93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property! I greatly appreciate it!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#17 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
#22 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
#5 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
Address: 2501 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4324 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, a city rich in history and a regional hub for corporate and retail services. The history of Sioux Falls revolves around the cascades of the Big Sioux River. The falls were created approximately 14,000 years ago when the last glacial ice sheet redirected the flow of the Big Sioux River. With our hotel's convenient location, you will find us easily accessible to many attractions such as the Empire Mall, Sertoma Butterfly House and Outdoor Campus, Falls Park, the Washington Pavilion and Wild Water West Amusement Park. We are also conveniently located by many restaurants such as Ruby Tuesday and corporate locations such as banks, hospitals, Joe Foss Field Airport, and the Ivy Room Conference Center. Our hotel offers limited shuttle service to the airport and other corporate locations. While in Sioux Falls, make sure to sit along the banks of the mighty Big Sioux River at Falls Park, our city's namesake. While there you can check out the Horse Barn Art Gallery and Falls Park Tower. Welcome to Sioux Falls, the heart of America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing