We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, but an acceptable Brazilian Rodizio”

Carnaval Brazilian Grill
Ranked #1 of 401 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Jeanne Dr
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not Great, but an acceptable Brazilian Rodizio”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Since the Carnaval Brazilian Grill was just down the road from out motel, my wife and I decided to have dinner here and see how it compared to the Rodidzio restaurants we have in the northern New Jersey area. This restaurant is good, but comes no where near the experience you will have at a true Brazilian/Argentine one in areas like Newark's Ironbound area.

The prices for a meal were on the high side compared to other restaurants we have eaten in that serve the same type of cuisine. Our meals were good and the service was good, but like many places we had to answer the question "how is your meal" three times during our meal. I don't understand why they feel they are to interrupt us while we are eating. If there was a problem, I promise, they would be the first to know.

The Carnaval Brazilian Grill is not a bad place to have dinner, just understand it is not the true "Rodizio" experience. For that, visit a Braziian neighborhood in this country and you will see and taste the difference.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    86
    37
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Presho, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Carnaval Brazilian Grill has a very nice atmosphere. We ordered the Signature Specialty which included a variety of different meats to try. Each meat arrived at our table on a long skewer delivered by a Gaucho. A slice was cut off. When you wanted more, you turned a chip on your table from red to green.
Although there were some unusual flavors, we enjoyed the food. The grilled cinnamon pineapple was especially delicious.
The price sounds kind of high but it includes side dishes and a salad bar. We enjoyed our visit and will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
“a fantastic experience!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My kids were in awe and still talk about the waiters! What a fun place to go!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noemhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Honestly, anyone who goes to a Brazilian steakhouse in Sioux Falls, South Dakota should not have unrealistically high expectations. Fortunately I did not, and therefore I was not disappointed. My food was good---not great, but good. Most disappointing was the fact that filet was not an option for any of the all you can eat offerings that most folks would go to a Brazilian steakhouse for the first place. The quality of the meat---average. The selections---average. There is an attractive and well appointed salad bar with a number of options including excellent chicken salad, although it is doubtful that most people would go to a Brazilian steakhouse for chicken salad. The mashed potatoes were pretty good too. The service was friendly and my drink a glass stayed full. If you are really hungry and are ready to eat mass quantities of decent flank-quality steak, go and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Time”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stopped here on a vacation trip. My wife has some unusual food allergies, which they were great about accommodating, giving us a list of the food that she couldn't eat. We ordered their signature meal which includes the salad bar and roasted meat brought around to all the tables. The salad bar is quite good with sufficient variety, although it does require some time getting oriented to where everything is (i.e. my wife didn't see the salad part of the salad bar, even though they had seven different types of lettuce/greens). The meat was delicious with a good variety of types and flavors. If you don't like one thing, wait for the next "gaucho" to come by.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirgenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnaval Brazilian Grill also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux Falls, SD
 

Been to Carnaval Brazilian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing