We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlpool didn't work...overall good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whirlpool didn't work...overall good experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 2 year anniversary. We were just wanting to get away from our one year old and two businesses for the weekend and booked a king whirlpool suite (#322). We checked in with no problems, had a lovely room with a beautiful bathroom. That night we got into the whirlpool and turned it on and it made a horrible grinding noise. My husband works on spa/pool motors and knew right away something wasn't right. Two of the jets didn't work as well. We went down to the front desk and informed them that we were having troubles with our whirlpool. Then they told us, 'Oh, we have been having problems with it and unfortunately everyone has checked in so we aren't able to move you.' It bothered me that they didn't tell us that upon check in (or even when I called and made the reservation) and put someone in that room anyways when they knew they were having problems with it. Most of the hotel staff knew we were celebrating a special occassion as my husband had the hotel order flowers and such to deliver to the room for our anniversary. They did offer to drop the room rate $20...which was still higher then the rate for a regular room. I asked if they could drop it to the rate of a regular king room since that's all we pretty much got since the whirlpool didn't work. They did agree to that. Overall we had a good time, but to be honest, we stayed at a Quality Inn in Mitchell (a hour away) on our wedding night in a king whirlpool suite and the room was bigger and just about as nice for half the price. Not sure if I'd stay again for the rate and the lack of consideration the hotel employees had for not informing us of the whirlpool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
46
30
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I'm a Marriott fan, and have absolutely no qualms when booking my groups at the Courtyard in Sioux Falls. It's been open for a couple of years now, but still seems brand new - and the staff bend over backwards to make you feel welcome, comfortable and at home.

Keep up the great work, and the "can do spirit" that

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ears2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with the price and after booking the room I was informed we would be having another family member stay with us. We were not charged for a third person. The room was highly decorated and very clean. The beds were great and linens were outstanding. I got the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. The breakfast was also fantastic and went with the room. It was a buffet that rivaled a classy restaurant. I was really treated with exceptional care from Karen and had a great time visiting with her. She deserves a raise! I just wish I had more time to relax and enjoy this hotel with a longer stay and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autopirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I was most pleased with our stay at the Courtyard in Sioux Falls. It has a great lobby area attractively decorated and most spacious with fun use of color! Our room was quite large actually with an unique shape which made it more homey feeling and was most attractively designed. We found it quiet except when one lady chose to have a telephone conversation in the hallway near our room. The beds were comfortable as well. Main complaint is there is no free continental breakfast (you can buy your breakfast downstairs) but fortunately they do have coffee in the room. A good hotel in Sioux Falls and I would definitely return. Conveniently located if shopping at the Empire Mall.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our room was very small. It was well decorated with clever furniture to maximize use of the space. Unfortunately, it only had a shower, which made bathing our toddler difficult. Clean and well maintained, and it looked new.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnormlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel ---- everything was perfect. Service, cleanliness, location, value, and overall environment were all more than expected!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Our overnight stay was in a comfortable K room in this Courtyard which is adjacent to the Empire Mall. Across from the Courtyard is an also newish other Marriott property which from the exterior looked just as pleasing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free internet is available. The hotel is just off a main highway but the room was quiet. The air conditioner was very efficient but loud-like a large whoosh- but did not prevent a good night's sleep. A nice place for dinner is Bracco, about a 7 minute, 2 mile ride from the hotel. Make an opentable.com rez .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sioux Falls
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sioux Falls
Residence Inn Sioux Falls
#31 of 53 in Sioux Falls
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
Staybridge Suites Sioux Falls
#23 of 53 in Sioux Falls
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Empire Towers
Best Western Empire Towers
#10 of 53 in Sioux Falls
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
#5 of 53 in Sioux Falls
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls
Address: 4300 West Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a perfect stay at Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls, a functional and convenient hotel in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. We offer well-designed rooms and outstanding service, near Denny Sanford Premier Center and Empire Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Marriott
Sioux Falls Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing