We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice way to get unplugged”
other traveler has booked this property
Nestled in Pines
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled in Pines
Bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Nestled in Pines
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bath
Living Room
Living room/Loft
Loft
Loft
Quiet Neighbors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rochford, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff P
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice way to get unplugged”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nice A Frame back in the woods with a wonderful host. Glenda made sure we were comfortable and made sure we enjoyed our stay. There is no cell phone service here, but we were happy to disconnect. The cabin was clean and met all our needs. It was nice coming back in the late afternoon seeing deer, turkey, cows (free range area), and chipmunks. The stars were awesome at night and we had a possibility of seeing the Northern Lights which we did not get to see. The only thing we could hear in the morning and at night was the wind and the babbling creek. We will definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hideaway Cabin. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your sty in the Black Hills !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusherRac...
Yankton, SD
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Cabin to Unplug!”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were looking for a place to unplug while we enjoyed the black hills! This place isn't convient to the tourist traps but is situated in an absolutely beautiful area to explore and unplug.

The cabin itself is nice clean and worked perfect for our family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you, Ryan. I am glad your family stayed at our cabin and appreciated the natural wonders of the area. Twin fawns have taken up residence under the tree right by the driveway. I wish they would have been there for your children to see, but I am sure you saw hundreds of deer anyway !

Oh, and we do have our OWN local Tourist Traps: The Moonshine Gulch Saloon and the Rochford Mall !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhauser
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing secluded getaway”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Glenda gave us very clear and accurate directions, greeted us for over an hour, and had any information we needed. The cabin is incredibly clean, stocked with everything you could want, and close enough to the main attractions in the park to be convenient.

Highly recommended for people who are bored or the typical hotel stay and want to have a place they can call their own for a while!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was my pleasure to meet you and your mother and help your plan your sightseeing so you could see the most in your short visit. Come on back; there is lots more to do in the Black Hills !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loserwann...
Hutchinson, Minnesota
1 review
“As advertised”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a great affordable cabin for our family to stay in during our trip to SD. Glenda's hospitality was wonderful! She made us feel like family.The cabin isn't fancy, but it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We all slept great and we always had hot showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you B & J. It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing the Black Hills with you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkenzee...
1 review
“Hideaway cabin”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My stay at the Hideaway cabin in Rochford was wonderful. The cabin was very safe, peaceful and scenic and Glenda was a wonderful host. If we ever return to the Black Hills we will definitely stay at the Hideaway cabin again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you, M. I enjoyed your visit and hearing about your daily adventures. You showed your children more of the Black Hills in one week than a lot of locals have seen !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marci N
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Perfect Family Getaway”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Hideaway Cabin was the perfect get-a-way, located in the Black Hills National Forest. We choose the cabin for a week long family get-a-way. The cabin is tucked back into the Black Hills and the view each morning is stunning. Seeing deer and other wildlife is common. The cabin had the necessary amenities including a dishwasher and washer and dryer. We quickly fell in love with our home away from home and extended our stay by an extra night. We have already spoken with the homeowner about returning next year. There is no where else we would rather stay when visiting the Black Hills.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you, Marci, for calling the cabin the "Perfect Family Getaway". That is exactly what we strive for and those are fine words of praise from the Perfect Family !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing