We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Reedsburg, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“everything was excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My Daughter and Granddaughter and I stayed for two nights and it was great. Rooms were clean with an inviting decor. Beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was exceptional. Having Perkins next door was convenient. I do not like continental breakfasts. Everything you would need is in the room,ie: hair dryer, ironing board and iron, refrigerator and microwave and coffee pot. Will stay again next trip to Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    168
    100
    47
    49
See reviews for
225
160
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

It is an OK place, it is clean which is the most important part, but that's where it ends. Rooms are not very inspiring. Honestly I think the decor is newer and intentional, but it just looks and feels like an out of date 80's cabin. Lighting is poor in the room, coffee pots are 20+ years old, beds are subpar and the TV is a standard definition, with terrible cable service that barely functions. Channels (like HBO, Nickelodeon) would be available one minute then gone an hour later. I expected a lot more for $150 a night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We made our confirmed reservations for our stay five months in advance. After a very long day of driving, we were told by their front desk representative that they did not have a room for us at their motel because "they were having some water problems in some of their rooms." She went on to tell us that they had moved our reservation to their "sister motel." I let the front desk rep. know that we were not happy about this decision, and that I felt that we should have been given priority on room selection because we had made the reservations and paid for the room in full at their request so far in advanced. I asked her who had made the decision to switch our motel room and she told me that the manager had. She also told us that she could not do anything about it that we would have to come back the next day to "argue about it with the manager." The room they gave us at their sister motel had black mold on the walls in the shower. The room had paint bubbling up and peeling, and very dirty carpeting. The beds were very hard, the room and bathroom were very small, and it had none of the luxuries/amenities of the Grand Gateway Motel. We were not told about the free breakfast, nor were we given any kind of refund even though we were clearly given a very bad room at a very bad motel. We also never received an email and/or a phone call before we arrived informing us of any problems. This was clearly a bait and switch scam.

Room Tip: Do Not Make Confirmed Reservations in advance. Do not pay for the room before you arrive and make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntAnnieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to check in early and all the rooms were booked. No problem we knew we were early so we told sandy the front desk clerk we were going over to perkins to eat. While we were eating Sandy walked in and told us she had a room for us. This was such a surprise that she would walk over and find us to let us know. Excellent service. The hallways and elevator were hot as I had also read on tripadvisor. The room was nice...had a slight odor to it. Here is where we ran into a little issue....it started to rain that afternoon and the window leaked .....a lot. It was a steady stream. Then my husband notice he had a lot of bug bites on his legs. So we packed up and checked out around 9 that night....they did offer us another room...even the presidential suite but by that time we were all packed up and ready to head home. Location was good and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here one night. It was only a short ride from the airport, which was what we wanted. The woman at the front desk was very friendly & efficient. We had requested a rollaway, which they were able to provide. The room was barely large enough to accommodate it, but since we have 5 people, it was our best option. The hotel is dated and the rooms were clean but nothing noteworthy. Our youngest child really enjoyed the waterslide--by far the best part of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room away from the elevators--they are really old & a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shery211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

we chose this place based on budget at the last minute. It was fine, we didn't have the problems mentioned in other reviews, though we didn't really care that the elevators were dingy, and we were far enough away from the wedding reception that we didn't hear it. Nothing exceptionally bad about this place, the location is OK, but nothing that makes me say "stay here" if you can get a better value elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RevTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel looked nice from outside and had a nice western themed lobby, but that is about the only good thing I can say about it. The elevators were very dirty and not air-conditioned, hallways were like an oven. The ice machine had been removed from the third floor, the first floor was out of ice, finally located the machine on second floor. There were several loud groups of young people in the hallway at bar closing time,which did not really wake me up because the bed was awful. We had to sleep with our heads at the bottom of the bed because if you slept the right way up you were on a downward incline. The pillows were too full and I got up with a bad neck the next day. Our room had two queen beds in it and the sheets on one had old stains on them,should have been thrown out, the heavy bedspread had stains and the bed skirt on one had a six inch rip. The carpeting had ground in stains.the chairs looked nice,but we're very uncomfortable and had stains. The sink area had very little counter space and what there was was taken up by the coffee maker. No refrigerator or microwave in the room. Regretted choosing this place when there so many other options in the area. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing