We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Only stayed one night. It was clean, fresh and the housekeeping staff was friendly. Loved that Perkins is attached right to the hotel. Check in was fast and courteous, as was the check out process. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 616 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was a great place to stay. If I had to say anything wrong, it was the mold on the ceiling, my mom noticed it as she laid down on the bed. We weren't willing to leave the room as it was a minor fault.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked the Grand Gateway Hotel May of 2014 for less than $50 including tax. For that price I was not sure what we would get, but the reviews were all good. Check in was easy. The hotel has a large clean lobby area. We went to our first floor room and found it to be well above average in size, very clean and the beds were great. The sink area is separated from the bathroom area with a door and we liked that. The room did have an older style TV, but it worked fine and we did not come to watch TV anyway. Perkins restaurant is attached and we found it to be a nice dinner location after a long day on the road. The pool area is huge and has a large water slide sure to please the kids, (and adults). Hot tub is also decent size. All areas of this property were clean and inviting. We will stay again even if we can not find the same great deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I booked two rooms through Expedia. The hotel vastly exceeded my expectations. The rooms were great and the staff was wonderful. The rooms were very Victorian, comfortable and relaxing. I had never been to Rapid City before and was amazed to luck into such a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenm75232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked through Booking.com and had an unbelievable rate for room we expected to only sleep in, therefore, not expecting much else. What a surprise! Clean large lobby. Separate pool area with long slide for the kids (I don't have any). Separate exercise room but I didn't look in. Large clean room with very comfortable beds with pillowtop mattresses. Though no breakfast with the room, Perkins was attached to the hotel. Wi-Fi wasn't working while we were there, our only complaint

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Grand Gateaway, The front desk employees were very accommodating. They Did a walk through with me before I book and matched the price I found on line. The hotel has a Victorian feel. It is beautiful and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever experienced. The only down side is the house keeping left a little to be desired never the less I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MelissaBBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Anytime we travel to Rapid City, Grand Gateway is our choice. Ok, it may not be the Ritz Carlton, but dollar for dollar, they get it right. Rooms are nice sized, well appointed, and clean. We especially enjoy the king and presidential suites and having Perkins room service! You can't go wrong with the Grand Gateway!

Room Tip: If you can get a good rate, grab the presidential suite or one of the two room suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $35 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing