We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
gregory, sd
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Rapid City and stayed at the Grand Gateway Hotel. The location is great. . . it connects to Perkins and is close to major shopping. Our granddaughter enjoyed the slide and the play area by the pool. Everything was very clean, and our nonsmoking room was a true non smoking room! We'll plan on staying here again!

Room Tip: I booked through Expedia. We had a room on the 2nd floor and we weren't bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a positive review. We not only learn from the negative but from the positive as well.

Recently under new management, all feed back is welcome and valued
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    163
    97
    44
    47
See reviews for
208
158
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tripadvisor is a useful tool when looking for accommodation. TA partners were showing a rate of $53 for this, usually $150 a night hotel. The receptionist was warm and polite and told us that the rooms we were talking of had all been booked. Fearing that we would have to find an alternative place to stay, she asked us if $59 would be ok. Yes indeed.
Going up to our room we were pleasantly surprised to have got such luxury at the price. All the special care and attention to detail really shone (the room was serviced by Frank) and made the experience all the more rewarding.
No breakfast included butt who is complaining?

Not that we used them, but this hotel has an indoor pool with slide, comfortable lobby/lounge with fireplace an stands adjacent to a Perkins, so you do have easy access to decent food.

Room Tip: Use the price given by Tripadvisor's partners to negotiate your price. This hotel has a gurante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsMeJustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed one night...two weeks in a row. Same front desk personnel who looked tired and un-kept. No welcome or acknowledgement I was standing there. It was as if I was bothering them. The rooms were ok and fairly clean, although a bit dark. Decor and furnishing could use an update. Convenient location and close to restaurants. Attached Perkins was a plus for breakfast. Best price in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iaabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros- easy to find. Front desk check in clerk was AWESOME (friendly, smiled, & happy) Had pool area for kids with a tube slide. 4th floor room was nice and pretty clean. Perkins was attached by a hallway and had good food. Bed was comfy - pillows were not . Shower had good pressure. I did pay for an upgraded room so not sure what the regular rooms were like. It was quiet in the room but you could hear talking and etc in the hallway.

Cons- We arrived about 10 PM and a parking spot was hard to find with a few groups hanging out in the lot (it was a cold night) and they were not hotel guests. Didn't really feel very safe to walk to hotel or to leave the car in the lot. (nothing happened) but still didn't feel safe. There was a bar in the hotel that was packed - many non guests - probably part of parking problems and groups hanging out outside. The hallway leading to Perkins needs better lighting and maybe cleaned up. The elevator seems to be an add on ??? and was very slow but had a very fast acting door that I stopped many times for others getting on or off. Also seemed to be others kind of hanging out in the lobby or hallway areas.

Would I stay here again - NO - too many other hotels at good prices without the outside problems. Just didn't really feel safe.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here - pay the extra and be on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location off the interstate, close to shopping and dining. Some family attractions nearby. Good stay for the rate! Could use some security to keep loitering to a minimum in the parking lot. Didn't feel real safe after hours.

Room Tip: 4th floor concierge room is excellent and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cargomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! We apologize for any uneasiness you experienced while staying with us. Please be assured our staff does keep an eye out for any suspicious activity. Our hotel is located next to the Cheers Lounge and Perkins (a restaurant open 24/7), so there are people on the property late at night. We want our guests to feel safe and comfortable when staying with us, so please report anything that makes you feel uncomfortable and we will check into it immediately. The safety of our visitors and staff is a priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Extremely nice value just off I-90. Several other hotels in the area at a great location near the mall, food, and entertainment. A little dark and aged in its colors here but bright friendly service. Hotel connected to Perkins Restaurant and a large indoor pool with slide and plenty of space. Pillows are above average with bed being comfortable.. Bathroom and shower are also average or above but dark mosaic tile ages it. Towels are needy. All in all a very good value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your review! We think a great pillow helps get a great night's sleep - thanks for noticing! We will look into the towel situation. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
357 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just stayed here recently during a huge snow storm, so keep in mind the hotel and it's staff weren't functioning normally, with some of the staff sleeping over to work again the next day, and being slightly short for a day or two. Some of the negatives I'll get out of the way first, room service was a little lacking, sometimes not replacing coffee and cups, and not too friendly when you ask them for something. This may be due to the stress of the storm and working short however, and I didn't interact with every person working there, others may have been much more helpful. The front desk also had no answers when people asked questions about when the snow plows normally come around after snow, and also didn't know much about the airport reopening. Again, this was all during a snow storm and the hotel was extremely over worked so keep that in mind. On to the good news. The location is great. The hotel isn't situated in the downtown area, so it's not as crowded, it has a restaurant attached to the hotel that has great food and offers room service all night, and you are also located right near the interstate, making it real easy to get to attractions. The hotel also has free parking with a good amount of parking spaces. Everything in the room worked properly, although the tv's are a little dated. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. There's an indoor pool that stays open pretty late, and a few game tables in the same room. I would definitely stay here again, especially since I'm assuming the small negatives I encountered were mainly due to the storm.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor all the way at the end near the back door, which is close to most of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliesherry, Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your understanding during the snow storm. With many places out of power and emergency services recommending no travel, it creates a very stressful situation; especially when no one knows when things will lighten up! We've made note of your comments regarding the housekeeping staff and will forward your feedback to the appropriate departments. We're happy you had a great experience with the bed and pillow accommodations - a great night's sleep can make or break your day. We certainly hope you stay with us again the next time you're in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing