We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All was great with the property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All was great with the property.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really liked this place! Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location worked well for me. Across the parking lot was a convenience store and connected to a Perkins. The only bad mark is that I left a do not disturb sign on the door, yet when I returned they had come into my room and left a notice on the desk that I had missed maid service. Now in all fairness this probably was a maid that I hope knew I was gone, but what if I had been there doing who knows what or what if it wasn't the maid? The notice is supposed to be slipped under the door. With that being the only exception I would definitely stay here again! They have safes that will hold a laptop and only one key to the safe feature I really like.

Room Tip: Both ends have their own benefits. Travelers with kids will want a room on the west end close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaberRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    165
    98
    45
    47
See reviews for
213
159
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I almost passed on this hotel and I'm glad I didn't. It's an older hotel so a few stains on the carpet didn't make me want to leave. The kids loved the pool but they do need someone in there to supervise kids and teens who can't read the rules or to tell the idiot parents of those idiot kids to follow the rules. Room was great and even though I didn't know the area I felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recordhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I made a reservation for my hubby and 8 yr old at the Grand Getaway ( on Expedia.com) the hotel is great but I will NEVER use Expedia again due to horrible service. I called the hotel and spoke with Brandy to explain a change I was trying I make for their stay ( Expedia refused to help and kept me on hold for over 20 minutes and then hung up on my ) I explained all of this to Brandy and she said she cold help and offered to just call me back since I'd already spent so much time on the phone. She was personable, customer-focused and I could hear over the phone that she remained cheerful. I appreciated the above and beyond service. Great service is NOT a thing of the past! Thanks Brandy, you represented South Dakota well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

When I booked the room I didn't realize we had no refrigerator. Upon checking in I asked to upgrade so we could have one. It was a minimal price that was worth it. We had a forth floor room near the elevator, it was noisy until around 10so no big deal, but this was a Sunday night so weekends could be louder. The slide was cool for the kids. It is not a pool to swim-basically just for the slide so hard for tiny kids. No breakfast-not even coffee! We could make a pot in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevator are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karimllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Grand Gateway is a remodeled older property. We stayed there because the price was very reasonable. No breakfast so that figures into the equation a bit. The room was clean and nicely decorated in a formal style. The beds were a bit bouncy, but we did sleep well. Coffee maker in the room and sink outside the bathroom which is great when several people are trying to get ready in the morning. Pool seemed small for the size of the hotel and was packed with kids, many of which were poorly supervised by their parents and no staff in sight. The kids really enjoyed the water slide but it seemed a bit dangerous in that no one was there to assure they weren't falling on top of each other at the bottom of the slide. Several near misses. My recommendation if you have kids in the pool is to instruct them on how to slide and swim safely, move out of the way etc., and then end the swim if things are not safe. Overall it was a nice stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my 2 and 4 year old boys. The room with double beds easily fit our pack n play and luggage. My boys loved the indoor pool. We were there every day. The hotel was nice for the price and location. The only drawback was that the pool need some maintenance. The coating was peeling, so the bottom felt kind of dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were travelling with American friends who had kindly sorted out the booking so we were surprised on checking in that we were nowhere near each other. On receiving our room number my husband asked to change as it was at the end near the exit and lift but was told it wasn't possible to change. The first night was AWFUL, the back door crashed every time people went out to the rear car park or out to smoke, and the noise and vibration was such that our headboard shook every time that happened! The lifts were in the back corner too and were audible. Fortunately the noise stopped at about 11.30p.m. but started again at 6 a.m. The following 2 nights were better -perhaps we were so tired we slept through the noise!
We had breakfast at the Perkins which was attached to the hotel, that was good but the hotel obviously used that as an excuse not to provide breakfast as so many other hotels do in the States.
Our room was comfortable with a fridge, good shower and comfortable bed , cleanliness was just ok. There was a large indoor pool and sitting area where families with kids seemed to be enjoying the facilities.
Staff were quite detached, not particularly bothered and I thought it was poor not to offer a change of room or even bother to put 2 couples , obviously travelling together, in rooms close by.
For those reasons and the dreadfully noisy room , NUMBER 134 , I can only give the above rating, a shame as with more thought and better staff training, the hotel has the potential to be very good indeed.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept room 134 or those near. It should not be used as it is next to the rear exit with no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing