We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“clean”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we enjoyed our stay. very clean, fancy rooms, the pool was very nice, we stayed one night and we enjoyed our stay, we would stay here again. We really like our room, it was big and the bathroom was clean,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kclmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    170
    103
    48
    49
See reviews for
230
162
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having driven from Denver to Rapid city i was tired and wanted a cosy place to sleep and chill, This place is your destination let me tell you. A warm feeling is felt the second you enter the lobby. Friendly staff, great indoor pool and slide, great sized rooms and not too far from what you go to South Dakota for. The usual american chains are within a 5 min drive, also in my opinion the biggest Walmart I've ever been too is in this town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The decor was interesting and the pool was great but I was over charged significantly from the quoted rate and the staff was less than helpful in sorting out the matter after numerous phones calls to managers. I would recommend you pass on this choice for hotels because it really soured our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadWarriorLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was great. Swimming poo, Hot tub, Restaruent connnected to Hotel called Perkins. So good. Friendly people everyhwhere, Staff was great. Very close to freeway and shopping centers. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Great for kids also
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Grand Gateway Hotel was recommended to us from another Military Reunion Group. We visited doing a site visit looking for the best place for our military reunion. We found it at the Grand Gateway. Bob Hodet, Director of Sales, could not have done enough for us in helping us make our visit eventful and enlightening. We felt it was the best location we could find to hold our reunion.. The rooms were very nice, bed comfortable, and it was a very homey atmosphere. The staff was helpful and made us feel at home. Our members should be very happy with this choice of reunion site.. We signed the contract and will have our reunion in September 2013.
Phil & Helen Perry

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room. Very quiet. The Perkins Restaurant adjacent to the Hotel was a plus for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmansville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hospitality and great staff madeour reunion a memorable one. I would rate this hotel at the highest level to hold a group function. The names of some of the people that made this reunion great were: Bob Hodet Saes Manager & Shuttle Driver Karen Hodet Shuttle Driver Marlow Quilt-Chef, Chef Helper, Jessica-Helper atBanquet Leslie Sherry-Bartender at Banqiet and helped in the Kitchen.

Room Tip: CALL EARLY My wife has a slight handicap the staff gave us the 1st floor a shower bench,along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHUCK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Grand Gateway Plaza hotel was the best hotel we have ever used for a reunion because of the Hospitality of the Staff and their approach to meeting our needs. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great reunion.
Names of some of the People:
Bob Hodet Sales Manager and Shuttle Driver
Karen Hodet-Shuttle Drive
Marlow Quilt=Chef and everything else
John Horst-Chef Helper
Cory Roth-Chef Helper
Jesssica-Female Helper at Banquet
Darla-Bartender at Banquet
Leslie Sherry-bartender at banquet and helped in the Kitchen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing