We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rushmore Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brandon, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location, downtown close to bars & restaurants. Staff was friendly, big breakfast buffet
was included in the stay was excellent compaired to some hotels who only have continental
breakfast. Beds were comfortable, mini cheesecake, glazed nuts & strawberries put in your
room everyday was a special treat. Nice to have a coffee shop, bar & restaurant in the hotel.
Our room was on the 8th floor and the lighting was dim. The only bright light was in the
bathroom. I have only one suggestion put one bright light in the room. With 9 floors the
elevator was fast, didn't have to wait long at all. Hotel was full. No matter what hotel people
stay at they are going to complain, but my advise to anyone who reads this go stay there. I read
some of the reviews before we stayed don't believe them all. It was worth it, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    255
    113
    40
    18
See reviews for
136
305
52
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yankton, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Unless you stay in the eco rooms, this is a very outdated hotel in downtown Rapid City. The location is good, staff was helpful and food is good. The rooms however, were a real disappointment. The decor in the hallways and rooms were outdated and worn out--think older motel 6 or days inn. The noise from outside was unbearable (you could hear the outside bar crowd and cars like they were in your room and this was in January). The doors slammed shut so you could hear them all night.
I always look for highly rated hotels on priceline, etc. for a good value as I can handle a few nuiances--which is what you usually get for the "value" part. We left after one night and I have never done that before. I should have listened to the other reviews.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 139happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice rooms, got an upgrade - an excellent bargain from Expedia. Staff was friendly and helpful (desk, housekeeping, and restaurant). Great location downtown, close to shopping, restaurants, and bars. Comfortable room furnishings, computer access, well-appointed weight room. The breakfast (included) was incredible. The building/room maintenance could be much better. Another drawback was the bathroom - very tight quarters. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller57747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, wonderful personnel and really good four star food in the hotel's restaurant Enigma!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rapid City! Try the mystery dinner in the restaurant and then go to the martini bar and have one of their specialty Martinis..I love the fact that the hotel is Eco friendly and all of the food in the restaurant is organic.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for several days in August 2012. We loved it. We were in one of the new "Eco" rooms and loved the look of the barnwood and mural. The linens and comforter were the best I've ever used. The shower head was a water-saver, which always scares me, but this one was great. Top this off with a very friendly staff who were willing to do whatever we needed made our stay extra special. If I owned this place, I'd invest in making the elevators newer and faster, and I'd hurry to upgrade all of the rooms to the new design.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Peelout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere,USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

First and foremost: There is nothing environmentally friendly about this hotel. Walk into the old rooms and you see 2 plastic water bottles waiting for you. Plastic water bottles!!! Hello!!!

Also, the heating and cooling in the rooms is so bad (and, thus, inefficient) that is also bad for the environment (and, no doubt, their bills).

The rooms are average size. And the window shades are new and good for privacy and blocking out light.

The bathrooms are very very small. So small that you can't even open the door fully without hitting the shower curtain. You heard me correctly.

The entire decor of the rooms and hotel is beyond old..it is dated. They are NOT going for a rustic look. It is just a poorly built hotel (in the 1980's) and has changed names at least 3 times. I wonder why? No one wants it.

We walked into the room and what was waiting for us? A nice looooooking little plate with some raspberries and some nuts. But, aaaah, the raspberries had mold all over them and the nuts look very old also. What they did was put the plate in the room days (or weeks) in advance when they cleaned the room last. Rather, of course, they should have put a fresh plate in the room ONLY on the day they the KNEW someone would actually check-in to the room. Again, a very very very good sign of how the management of this hotel operates.

Whoever owns this hotel is going on the cheap route. That is their "eco" answer: don't spend money and let the place fall apart. They seem to think that slapping the word "eco" in the name somehow makes it chic. Not!!!

Price was good, though. Gotta give them that. And location was good and they had close parking.

Beds were small, but very comfy. However, the blankets were very thin.

Restaurant is a total joke. Especially the morning breakfast. The bar in the hotel is nice, but waaaaaay overpriced. ...see other 2 reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MisterFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our room located on the 8th floor was very small, dark (poor lighting) and noisy. The heat system was loud turning on and off all night and nearby trains made it impossible to get any sleep. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was very good for our visit to Rapid. The enigma restaurant served an excellant breakfast and their service was excellant.

Room Tip: Rooms here are small and good luck with getting any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonandDebiview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rushmore Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rushmore Hotel & Suites

Property: The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
Address: 445 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-2754 (Formerly Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rushmore Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites is ideally located in the city's historic downtown district, just steps away from popular entertainment options, boutiques, the President walk, and the new Main Street Square. The hotel features the 3-diamond Enigma Restaurant. All rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet. At The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, we've struck an elegant balance between Earth-friendly and Big City Chic with our sustainable efforts, practices and newly renovated Floor. Additional upgrades include a new eco-luxury bedding package in all guestrooms, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and local businesses and 15 Megs of High Speed Internet wired and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Rushmore Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Rapid City
Mt Rushmore South Dakota
Radisson Rapid City
Rapid City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing