We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but for one night only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Decent but for one night only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The property is located just off the Interstate, which makes it noisy. Rooms look old and the whole place seems worn out. As we were just passing through, it was decent, otherwise I would not recommend it to other travelers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    45
    27
    41
See reviews for
48
35
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went in July and we received a discount for not booking ahead, but the room was on the 2nd floor and had cracks in the cement and kids were running back and forth. The microwave and mini refrigerator and air conditioner was not plugged in, the towels were sticky. The room had that closed in smell. You could also hear people late into the morning hrs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Average Motel 6. Booked a non smoking room and got a smoking room infested with flies. Bed was uncomfortable and the noise from outside was very loud. The service was very superficial and they seemed very happy to see me on my way with no regards to the unpleasantness I had experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Steve T, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had had reasonable experiences with Motel 6 previously so reasonable expectations for this location too. Checking in was easy and efficient and the service given to others, also checking, were also given a service that they were very pleased with. The room we were given was initially disappointing, not because of the decor as that was as expected. The room felt small though the bathroom was larger than some hotels we had recently stayed in on this holiday and that may have influenced our initial thoughts.

We stayed for few nights and became used to the room except for a couple of things. The room did have a few insects and spiders. Nothing to worry about and it wasn't an infestation but just a noticeable number. The other thing about the room was that it was quite noisy. Initially we though it was an air conditioning unit left on in an adjacent room but later noticed it was probably it was a pump or other device constantly running. There is also a reasonably constant noise from the i90 that is only a short distance away.

Smokers (some of the staff too) appear to smoke near some tables close to reception but that does seem to pervade the area in general.

Overall the hotel was relatively comfortable and convenient for restaurants and local attractions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glen&Isobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to SD for a family vacation. Motel 6 was just about the cheapest we could find at $66 / night. The rooms are tiny, maybe 6 x 9 feet with 2 full beds. Dirty linens, we killed at least 10 flies in the room the first night. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. About 1am someone pounded on our door and scared the crap out of my kids. Worst 2 nights of my life. We could not wait to get the heck out of there. Do not stay here!!

Room Tip: There are no amenities. Its a Motel 6. Spend your money somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and service, but a strong smoke smell was present the entire stay. There was an upside-down ashtray in the room with a sticker on the bottom that had a picture of a cigarette with a slash over it. So, I guess they flip it over and make it a smoking room when they need to? A non-smoking room should always be a non-smoking room, in my opinion. Room was renovated and clean, but bedspread was soiled. For the price, it was a good overall value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swancoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nauvoo
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you're just looking for a place to sleep, this hotel is ok. One of our bed coverings was stained and the other one had cigarrette holes burned in it. They provide soap, but no shampoo, so bring your own. No hair dryers, alarm clock, fridge, micro, but they do have flat screen tv's. The staff was friendly at check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#32 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Property: Motel 6 Rapid City
Address: 620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing