We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A real budget gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn I-90

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn I-90 to your Saves list
Comfort Inn I-90
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 North LaCrosse St, Exit 59 off I-90 - South on LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A real budget gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

In the budget category - this hotel was a real gem. We stayed in one of their family "suites" for an incredible on-season price and enjoyed very comfortable, clean, roomy and well kept accommodations. Everything worked, everything was generous. The sound protection in the room was outstanding. The air conditioning was spectacular for multiple 105 deg F days in a row. The beds were adequately comfortable. The bathroom was perfectly good enough.

When I take in the context of price, location and season and add-in the value we received for the room, the building, the incredible breakfast and most of all the A+ friendly over-the-top service - this becomes a five-star experience for my family.

Greatest Pros:
* Service
* Price/Value
* Breakfast
* The rooms in general
* Location: The hotel is right in the middle of tons of nearby services and shops you might want to access. It's ridiculously convenient. Rapid City itself is a great "base" for a SD vacation.

Areas that could use some improvement:
* Pool: I can appreciate that there is no hotel budget for lifeguards and that the staff are very busy attending to guests... but when the pool is overrun by 10-year-old jerks who's parents aren't around and are running and canon-ball jumping into the pool from every direction, it's sort-of hard for anyone else to enjoy it. I'm not sure how a hotel staff would address this kind-of a sensitive issue without ticking off the families that were implicated in bad behavior but the other families in the hotel are certainly disappointed when they can't swim.

One more additional note: I can't say enough good things about every single staff person we encountered. All of them from the front desk through the maid-service seemed totally friendly, approachable, and committed to customer satisfaction in every way. I particularly enjoyed the kindly older lady (probably a property owner?) who walked around the breakfast area engaging with customers in a personal way.

I traveled with family this time for a vacation - boys 6 and 8, my wife and I, her parents.

Room Tip: Ask for the two-room suite - it's the best deal in the newest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    116
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
173
115
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, I liked that it was away from Mt. Rushmore as you did not have a million kids running through the hallways. The pool was cold but we loved the hot tube. The breakfast area was clean and filled with fresh food. The room was nice although a bit outdated. I would definitely stay there again.

If you want to see Mt. Rushmore at night also, it is 30 minutes away at the light show does not start until 9-930.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Decorations and quality are a little dated; noisy window-type air conditioners which were hard to regulate. Did not have a clean odor in room. Beds were of average comfort. Fair location to see Mt. Rushmore area. Stayed two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sade37664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Even though I live very close in Spearfish, South Dakota.. I stayed at this hotel last weekend after having a horrible flight experience in Minneapolis. Ended up calling off my trip and coming back home, and ride was not able to come back and get me until the next day so, I checked in here for some much needed rest.

Airport shuttle took me here in a breeze! Shuttle is not free though, cost is almost $9, but they will add it onto your hotel bill.

Hotel front desk staff was very nice. They could clearly see how exhausted I was and let me check in early at about noon! Hotel is close to many places to eat and also close to Wal Mart.

Room was very lovely. Clean and nicely decorated. Air conditioner was super cold! It was like heaven! Room had a safe in it, which I didn't use (tell them the next day and they'll take that charge off of your bill).

Pool and hot tub was very fun and relaxing!

Breakfast was delicious and well staffed. Such a huge variety of foods to eat. Surely something for everyone. Only complaint is they need more tables and eating areas! Place was packed!

Overall and nice place in a great location. Lacross Street is super busy, but I didn't hear a sound!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilCrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family stayed for two nights in the fine establishment. Breakfast was plentiful and well staffed. The highlight came when exploring the Black Hills, I could not find my new iphone. On the chance I had left it in the room, I called the front desk and Luke took it upon himself to check. Lo, and behold he found it, and made my day. Thank you for this service beyond the call of duty.
Mark B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Thought the hotel was great place to stay. The rooms and hallways were clean and nice. Breakfast was good and well kept/maintained. Pool was nice temp (kind of small, but that is my opinion). Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: A nice feature are that some rooms on the ground floor have their own outside door that you can park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

a fairly new comfort inn. Staff friendly and the typical continental breakfast. no complaints on this one

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fooddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#4 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn I-90? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn I-90

Property: Comfort Inn I-90
Address: 1550 North LaCrosse St, Exit 59 off I-90 - South on LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#17 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn I-90 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award Winning hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a nice dining area. All rooms have new carpet, upgraded beds, flat screen TVs, some with a refrigerator and a microwave and spacious Family Suites too! The Millstone Family Restaurant is just a short walk out our door - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 at Exit 59 and near the entrance to the new Rushmore Crossing shopping area means you are close to many stores and a variety of restaurants. We're only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and there is a FREE double-decker bus that will take you there May through September. Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands are not more than 60 minutes away. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn I-90 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing