We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun and tasty!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Restaurant - CLOSED

Colonial House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly here. The owner collects lots of different things, so lots to look at...home cooking...not overly noisy either...is in front of a Best Western, so there is lots of parking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Telkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    208
    75
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good old time dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is old school and mouth watering. The breakfast is the best in my opinion. The service is friendly and really accommodate kids. It's usually very busy, so get there at the right time or wait in line.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyB622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The entire staff was friendly and the food was excellent and a great value. But even better was the dessert selection and taste. The Snicker'd Pie was one of the best desserts I've ever had. The pies and carrot cake were also excellent. The server and manager even gave us a pie for free because of my in-laws 40th anniversary. This kind of unexpected kindness really elevates a restaurant from good or great to fantastic and memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are on an east to west coast trip. Decided to have dinner here upon reading prior reviews. Usually the reviews are a good reference point but not with this restaurant. We had to wait 10 minutes even though tables were empty. Then we were seated right next to a very large group and me and my husband could not have a decent conversation without yelling at each other. So this is not a date night/evening place at all. I had the Liver and Onion with mashed potatoes and it was ok but not great. My husband had asked for water and a beer and we had to remind the waitress to bring the beer after 15 minutes. My husband had the salmon and a baked potato. The salmon was not fresh and i personally think chain restaurants do a better job. The baked potato was the smallest we had ever seen. We ordered key lime pie to go and the slice was literally a joke. We shared it because thats what we do but even for one person it was very very small. I would not recommend this restaurant and will not come here again if we come back this way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“How many types of pie do you have?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful pie and superb bison burgers. Locally owned ad]nd run for over 30 years. A bit cheesy looking form the outside, but press on...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing