We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“How many types of pie do you have?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House Restaurant - CLOSED

Colonial House Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian Friendly, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“How many types of pie do you have?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful pie and superb bison burgers. Locally owned ad]nd run for over 30 years. A bit cheesy looking form the outside, but press on...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    206
    73
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Save Room for Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just left this place and couldn't wait to write a review. I had the best coconut cream pie, all made from scratch, that I've ever eaten. This place boasts of the best pastry chef in South Dakota, and I'd have to say that is probably right. The dessert case was full of so many different choices that I had a hard time choosing. The portion size is generous, so be sure to save room after your meal.
Dinner was quite good as well. I had the Blue Walnut Salad, and the smaller portion was just right, in keeping with my plan to save room for dessert. My husband had the special, which was barbeque chicken with their own barbeque sauce, baked beans, cole slaw and cornbread. He said it was all very good.
Their homemade breads are to die for as well. The offering this particular evening was salted rosemary, a sweet bread, which was served warm.
The waitress who served us was very friendly and welcoming and the service was great. No complaints on this one!
We will most likely go back for breakfast in the morning, we liked this place so well.
You can't go wrong with choosing this restaurant but you will have a hard time choosing your dessert. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aarona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Reastaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Colonial house was a nice restaurant in rapid city, great change from the big chains. Its a little pricey but the food and selection are great, They also have a nice bar area in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at this busy busy place on a Friday. We got there around 5:15 to beat the crowd and glad we did because by 6 there was a line. Prices were in line. The 2 of us got out for $40 including appetizer and two entrees.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank xplorer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quirky place with good menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the outside, this place looks like it would be your typical "denture haven" but the menu is surprisingly modern: walleye fingers, hummus and pita plate, spitfire pasta are all pretty good but I absolutely go here for the blue walnut salad with grilled salmon--always good!

There's a rotating selection of pies available by the slice. Sticky rolls are cookies are available in the front case to go (unless sold out).

Kooky Wizard of Oz decor is interesting, service is good. Nice place for families, can also accomodate large groups.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cambium29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing