We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort food, great value, lots on the plate”

Colonial House Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 265 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A family owned favorite for 36 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great comfort food, great value, lots on the plate”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've eaten at the Colonial House numerous times for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. I've never had a bad experience, food has always been good, plentiful and hot!

Great specials, lots of food on the plate, light eaters can easily share.

A great Family place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigJohnsd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    244
    91
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just solid home cooked food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I don't know which is better the food or the prices. As close to a home cooked meal as you will get in a restaurant. Very consistant quality. Great soups, deserts (especially their pies), great specials. Can't go wrong here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The service is awesome here; much of the staff has been employed there for 10+ years. The food is great I like their breakfast and love the spicy chicken pasta! Food is reasonably priced and they have awesome desserts, pie, rolls, etc. Highly recommend stopping in and checking them out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank astoner_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town by far!!!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We live in Rapid City and my family has been eating at Colonial House once a week at least for many years...usually for breakfast (the Caramel Rolls are the best in the world!), but also lunch and within the last year we discovered that dinner is also great! They're buffalo burgers are the best I've ever had and they use the freshest ingredients for everything. Their desserts and pastries are without equal in town. Not to mention their service is always stellar...the servers are personable, friendly and quick and most have been there for years, a testament to the management and how they treat their staff. I can't say enough in praise of this place, although I should keep it to myself, it's getting busier and busier!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassafrass_0275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for South Dakota”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wasn't expecting a lot, but it was pretty decent food for lower prices. Didn't have to dress up either. We had the Chicken Pot Pie, ribs, and the fried cheese curds. All great foods!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Colonial House Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing