We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our Favorite Anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
“Our Favorite Anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for our first anniversary twelve years ago and it was love at first sight, and second, and many more to come. The setting is incredible with the seclusion, nearby creek with swimming hole, hiking trails galore, wildlife, and more. You are at the end of the road but at the same time just off the highway and close to the many Black HIlls attractions. Joyce is a devine cook and very well suited to the hostess role knowing when to be non-intrusive and when to be a friend with tons of information and informed opinions. The cabins are rustic but very comfortable as Russ is a master carpenter by trade and he has built and refurbished everything with loving care on this property that came down from his pioneering grand parents.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My new wife and I came here last July and we absolutely loved the experience! One year later, we're planning another trip back to Willow Springs. The views, hikes, and service make for a superior experience in South Dakota.

Room Tip: If you're looking for the more private atmosphere, the Frontier Cabin is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightSprite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoycePayton, Owner at Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. We are looking forward to having the two of you stay with us again this summer. We can't wait to show you our new hot tub. It's wonderful under the stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This B&B should be at the top of everyone's lists. One of the most beautiful, charming, comfortable places we have ever stayed. There are only two cabins - we were in the Frontier Cabin which is up a small hill - well worth it for the feeling of complete privacy in beautiful wilderness. The cabin is decorated with such attention to detail and charm, and all the furnishings are so comfortable. They manage to pull off a rustic look without sacrificing quality and atmosphere. You are surrounded by trees, stars, and hills. The outdoor hot tub is AMAZING. Joyce and Russell are wonderful hosts, extremely knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was delicious and delivered right to your cabin porch so you can eat it at your leisure. We cannot say enough good things about this place. We were kicking ourselves that we couldn't stay longer. It's just perfection, down to the tiniest detail.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pixiepizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Willow Springs is one of the most magical places! We felt instantly relaxed when we arrived after a long trip visiting family. We just didn't want to leave. If you need a place to get away from it all, it doesn't get any better. Same goes for the breakfast. What a treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleshaCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuyFls, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were here only two nights, but it was the best stay of our month long western trip. This is a good place to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer St. Park, Wind Cave and Jewel Cave. Usually, we are in no hurry to return to our lodging from seeing the sights. This was an exception! Hidden behind a rustic facade is a clean, cozy nest. We did not use them, but there is a TV and radio/CD player. We appreciated the fridge and microwave. We enjoyed the very private hot tub. It gets REALLY dark here and the stars overhead were beautiful shining through openings in the pines. Bring your sandals to cover the few steps to the hot tub. This is an exceptionally large property and the owner made some great suggestions for my early morning runs and for a hike with my wife. Each morning, the hum of an ATV engine signaled the approach of a wonderful breakfast. Joyce served stuffed french toast with meat, fruit and juice one morning and a delicious egg and artichoke dish the next. Joyce made accommodation for a gluten diet. Before our hot tub time the second night, we sat on the porch and watched a distant lightning storm as the sun set. If we get the chance, we will relax and stay for a longer time. Tip: because this is in an out-of-the-way spot, eat supper before you return from sightseeing. Nearest restaurants are about 20 minutes away. Joyce can make good recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioOrienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoycePayton, Owner at Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Hello Ohio Friends! It is so nice to read your review on Willow Springs Cabins. I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay here enough to share your experience with others. Thank You. The Frontier Cabin and the star filled sky is waiting for you to return for yet another peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights, the Frontier cabin is amazing, seculded and so charming. The breakfast was great and on time each morning. Would recomend to anyone, this place is a gem!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MizBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Complete privacy, wonderful surroundings, good breakfast...
We loved everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
10.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
5.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Summer Creek Inn & Spa
Summer Creek Inn & Spa
#2 of 25 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

Property: Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11515 Sheridan Lake Rd, Rapid City, SD 57702-6509
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Springs Cabins, B & B has been graciously welcoming guests to their Black Hills Retreat for 25 years. Our family estate is surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest, we are secluded, quiet and very quaint. We offer two private cabins each with there own outdoor hot tub. Gourmet basket breakfasts are delivered daily. While it feels like you are a million miles away from daily life you are just minutes away from all the Black Hills attractions - Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands National Park and the like. Come stay with us and experience the pleasures of Willow Springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing