We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$201
$169
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$139
GrandStay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$117
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
92
25
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
25
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomreptile gardensmount rushmorebluegrass jambluegrass musicseparate buildingblack hillsindividual roomsbreakfast is servedgreat place to stayhighly recommend staying herelate arrivaloatmealguest roomslabor day weekendrooms are cleanspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 126 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. What a great property in the Black Hills to stay at. Shari and Lee are gracious hosts and very accommodating. The room was very clean and decorated wonderfully. The Jacuzzi was the best part of the room. Shari made breakfast to order and had time to visit also. We actually ate in her own dining room. She has a passion for animals that only made our stay even better. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Dawn and I recently returned from four nights at the Sweetgrass Inn and enjoyed our stay very much. Shari made excellent full breakfasts convenient to the times we wanted, Lee was great to chat with and the overall accomodations were very good. Since we are big hikers, the location was great to make the most of our visits to Wind Cave, Badlands and the Black Hills. Cell coverage and internet leave a little to be desired, but those were the only negatives we encountered. We stayed in the Meadowsage room and everything was as expected and quite roomy. The bathroom area was huge! Overall I would definitely stay here again and wish only the best for Shari and Lee. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpgnmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms were large, clean, and very comfortable. Sweetgrass Inn is well situated to use as a home base for exploring the Black Hills attractions Sherri is a very friendly hostess who provided excellent advice on local attractions and restaurants. For those who are addicted to their internet, you should be aware there is none, but remember you are on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a wonderful place in the valley outside Rapid City.The inn was very peaceful after busy days in Rapid City. The rooms were well appointed with country furnishings and whirpool bath and large TV. The home cooked breakfasts were excellant. The owners were both friendlyand helpful. The only problem: no cable TV, on/off internet and cell phone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deputydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari R, Owner at Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review, glad you enjoyed your stay here! I always feel like I have to forewarn people that in many areas of South Dakota, cell phone coverage and wi-fi is spotty and cable isnt available everywhere so several years ago, I added that to my website. This is frustrating for many of us bed & breakfast owners (and other small business owners) who are located outside of town. Stepping into South Dakota is like stepping back in time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed in many places during our travels, but none of these places even comes close to the Sweetgrass Inn B&B! Our room was massive in size; had its own bathroom - also huge. The rooms were beautifully decorated and IMMACULATE! We have never stayed in anything SO CLEAN! Breakfast was awesome, too, as there is a menu from which to select, and a nearby fridge held items such as fruit and yogurt cups - homemade! There also was a large common room where one could put drinks and food into a fridge; sit down and relax and play board games among other things (games were provided.) The room also had pamphlets for numerous attractions in the area. Shari and Lee, the owners, are laid-back people who care about their guests. They're very knowledgeable about the area, too.

Room Tip: They're all great rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews