We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Great Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We and another couple stayed here in September 2012 for 3 days in rooms 1 and 8. We would rate it 3.5 stars.

Pros
- Breakfast: Cooking quality was excellent, perhaps the best we have ever had.
- Dietary Restrictions: The hosts are very interested and capable in terms of meeting dietary restrictions.
- Common Area: This is large and comfortable
- Rooms: Large and beds are comfortable. Reasonably nicely furnished.
- Facility: The facility is well kept and the front section is attractive.

Medium
- Location: It’s further from Rapid City than I thought; probably to far for a quick drive in for dinner and back. On the other hand it’s about 12 minutes from Hill City which has some good places to eat and the usual tourist stuff. It’s also a lot closer to the Black Hills tourist stuff than Rapid City.
- Location: The location is just far enough off the highway that it cannot be seen from the highway. They have a sign on the highway, but I don’t recall if it is lit at night. The turn is a local road and does not have a street light, so it’s tricky and easy to miss at night.

Cons
- PLUMBING: The temperature of the shower water for both rooms fluctuated significantly when a water source somewhere else (e.g. toilet) was used.
- Plumbing: In room 1 the shower faucets both turned in the same direction (rather than opposite), so adjusting the temperature was non-intuitive.
- Plumbing: In room 8 the shower faucets are very difficult to adjust from outside the shower because the toilet is in the way.
- Grounds and local area: Room 1 has an outside entrance which opens onto a patio where the Inn serves dinners during the summer. They had just suspended service there for the season when we arrived and the tables and chairs were stacked up – it was a bit tacky. Also the far side of the Inn and back were not well kept and visually a bit tacky.

Room Tip: Call for reservations and be prepared to discuss dietary restrictions, if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossG1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

For $157.00 a room per night, this place was a rip off. We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts in the Black Hills and this was a disappointment. First off, the owners had an employee that had a pit bull running around loose that growled at all the guests checking in. Second, in chasing said pit bull around to chain him/her up, she cursed a blue streak in front of guests. Third,we were told that since we had to leave earlier (8AM) in the morning, breakfast was unavailable to us. We would be provided with frozen breakfast sandwiches instead. The room was fair, but was not worth the price charged, very dusty and sort of shabby. I've stayed in Comfort Inns with nicer rooms for half the price. No soap in the showers. Good thing we packed our own.

Maybe its my own fault I didn't research my B and B's better. Silly me to think I would have a good experience here.

Bottom line-am I expecting too much in this day in age? What happened to "the customer is always right?" Don't people stay at B and B's to have more customized service? Do we pay large sums of money for substandard services? HIGHLY advise people to not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money at Black Forest Inn-look somewhere else (see above review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobrohla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We finished our Colorado tour here after two weeks and we are trying to stretch that out some more after coming here.We just loved our stay and the mountain views. The place puts you in a different state of mind and refreshes you. We had a wonderful stay and only regret having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights, in two different rooms and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The hot tubs were awesome, and the food was incredible. The Bistro restaurant was delicious, and the service was friendly and fun. Call in advance if you have dietary restrictions - the chef bought me special foods for breakfast. Best vegan french toast and sausage I've ever had! Wish I had some right now...Cindy is friendly and everyone is extremely helpful, but not overbearing. Just the right kind of balance for B&B. Could not recommend more highly!! - Nora and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraAndMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to South Dakota and our friends found the Inn on the web. The owners, Cindy and Isaac are wonderful people and they will make you feel like family. We loved the location and our rooms were very comfortable.
The food is excellent. I am gluten and dairy free. And for breakfast, I would get a very tasty breakfast that was gluten and dairy free.
The Bistro is very convenient for dinner. The menu is amazing. We had a fabulous dinner.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The Inn is about 10 minutes from a gas station and a couple of restuarants. And 30 minutes to Mount Rushmore. I recommend the Black Forest Inn to everyone.

Room Tip: Lover's Loft is on the 2nd floor with a renovated bathroom, beautiful views and an indoor Jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at a B&B nearby, and we ate dinner at the Bistro on the Terrace twice during our 5 day tour of the Black Hills. The terrace had a European ambiance, the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed our meals there very much. The wine was also good, and reasonably priced. Best restaurant we tried in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay here but the bistro was recommended for dinner and it was amazing! The freshwater shrimp were huge and tasted great. The pork chops were also amazing. The service was excellent and our waitress also turned out to be an artist at one of the local Hill City shops. Great wine selection as well. Wish we had found this place sooner during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Connietravelerfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
17.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#1 of 25 in Rapid City
273 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23191 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota. We are minutes away from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood and Sturgis. We are just 30 minutes from downtown Rapid City and 45 minutes away from the airport. A homemade hot breakfast is always included each morning. In the summertime our outdoor restaurant, Musekamp's Grill & Pub, is open 6 nights a week for dinner overlooking the pines. We are open year-round and welcome you to our beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing