We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #5 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at a B&B nearby, and we ate dinner at the Bistro on the Terrace twice during our 5 day tour of the Black Hills. The terrace had a European ambiance, the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed our meals there very much. The wine was also good, and reasonably priced. Best restaurant we tried in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay here but the bistro was recommended for dinner and it was amazing! The freshwater shrimp were huge and tasted great. The pork chops were also amazing. The service was excellent and our waitress also turned out to be an artist at one of the local Hill City shops. Great wine selection as well. Wish we had found this place sooner during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Connietravelerfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Black Forest Inn, enjoying its roominess and excellent location for seeing the marvelous geology and history of the Black Hills. Despite the Sturgis Motorcycle rally, our room was quiet, with all comforts provided. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, especially in meeting our particularly dietary requirements. The on-site Bistro restaurant was a pleasant surprise; the food was teriffic and it was great to be able to wind down with the view and then walk back to our room.

Room Tip: Suite #9 is at the back, not directly off the common room, thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stMalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Farmington, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the first phone call we knew we were on to something good and we were right! We made last minute reservations with a late arrival with ease. The rooms were clean and cozy and were immediately made to feel like family. Our two night stay turned into an additional 3 nights (during the Sturgis Rally!) due to car troubles, but Cindy and her staff did everything they could to accomodate us. Their hospitality went above and beyond our expectations. Breakfast was hot and delicious every morning without fail. We dined at the Bistro every evening and enjoyed a variety of delectable dishes accompanied by good wine. But for the outstanding service and accommodations of this really special place, our trip out west would have been a complete disaster. Special thanks to Cindy for making us feel at home and for doing all she could to make our stay memorable. Oh, and BTW...there was no price gouging even with the Rally going on!! That speaks volumes in and of itself!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better appointed, but downstairs rooms worked for us in a pinch and less expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family decided to take a last minute trip to see Mount Rushmore the weekend of August 3rd, 2012. Little did we know that Sturgis was gearing up! After calling several places, we found the Black Forest Inn online. We called and the owners, Isaac and Cindy, were our saviors as we were having NO luck finding a place to stay. They were extremely friendly and accommodating, and their property was beautiful, inside and out! Our rooms were wonderful, nicely decorated, cozy and very clean. The food we ate at their onsite patio restaurant, the Bistro, was absolutely out of this world (thank you, Chef Chris!), and the wait staff was very helpful and friendly. The next morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and chatted with fellow guests, all of whom seemed to be regular visitors to the Black Forest Inn. Hearing stories from these guests only solidified our thoughts about this spectacular bed and breakfast - we will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The Lover's Loft is the best! It is a large room located upstairs, which makes it more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Tisdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our first impression wasn't quite what we expected from the website BUT....as we walked in a little further we were so pleased with our Tuscany room. Beautifully decorated in every way. The jacuzzi tub and handsomely tiled shower were a wonderful treat. We enjoyed our 1st anniversary dinner prepared to perfection. We both had the baked salmon with black forest cheesecake for dessert. The staff graciously set up a table in the gazebo with white and red linens and a perfect red rose. What a perfect evening for us after our long day driving. We were so blessed to get the room on a last moment phone call. Thank you to you and your staff for making our evening unforgettable. Oh my, the breakfast included with our room was exquisite.

Room Tip: Tuscany! Beautiful upstairs room, great linens, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thank you for the Bistro at Black Forest Inn for showing that there is more to the Black Hills dining scene than Burgers, Fries and Steak! The chef's vision is to re-create some of the European atmosphere of finding hidden bistros and pubs with great food in the most unlikely places - mission accomplished! We loved the Duck Confit, the gigantic king shrimp, salads and good selection of wines by the glass. Even rain and cool temperatures could not stop us from going back the next evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
17.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
17.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 23191 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing