We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and Gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and Gracious”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Black Forest Inn, enjoying its roominess and excellent location for seeing the marvelous geology and history of the Black Hills. Despite the Sturgis Motorcycle rally, our room was quiet, with all comforts provided. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, especially in meeting our particularly dietary requirements. The on-site Bistro restaurant was a pleasant surprise; the food was teriffic and it was great to be able to wind down with the view and then walk back to our room.

Room Tip: Suite #9 is at the back, not directly off the common room, thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stMalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Farmington, OH
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the first phone call we knew we were on to something good and we were right! We made last minute reservations with a late arrival with ease. The rooms were clean and cozy and were immediately made to feel like family. Our two night stay turned into an additional 3 nights (during the Sturgis Rally!) due to car troubles, but Cindy and her staff did everything they could to accomodate us. Their hospitality went above and beyond our expectations. Breakfast was hot and delicious every morning without fail. We dined at the Bistro every evening and enjoyed a variety of delectable dishes accompanied by good wine. But for the outstanding service and accommodations of this really special place, our trip out west would have been a complete disaster. Special thanks to Cindy for making us feel at home and for doing all she could to make our stay memorable. Oh, and BTW...there was no price gouging even with the Rally going on!! That speaks volumes in and of itself!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better appointed, but downstairs rooms worked for us in a pinch and less expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family decided to take a last minute trip to see Mount Rushmore the weekend of August 3rd, 2012. Little did we know that Sturgis was gearing up! After calling several places, we found the Black Forest Inn online. We called and the owners, Isaac and Cindy, were our saviors as we were having NO luck finding a place to stay. They were extremely friendly and accommodating, and their property was beautiful, inside and out! Our rooms were wonderful, nicely decorated, cozy and very clean. The food we ate at their onsite patio restaurant, the Bistro, was absolutely out of this world (thank you, Chef Chris!), and the wait staff was very helpful and friendly. The next morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and chatted with fellow guests, all of whom seemed to be regular visitors to the Black Forest Inn. Hearing stories from these guests only solidified our thoughts about this spectacular bed and breakfast - we will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The Lover's Loft is the best! It is a large room located upstairs, which makes it more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Tisdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our first impression wasn't quite what we expected from the website BUT....as we walked in a little further we were so pleased with our Tuscany room. Beautifully decorated in every way. The jacuzzi tub and handsomely tiled shower were a wonderful treat. We enjoyed our 1st anniversary dinner prepared to perfection. We both had the baked salmon with black forest cheesecake for dessert. The staff graciously set up a table in the gazebo with white and red linens and a perfect red rose. What a perfect evening for us after our long day driving. We were so blessed to get the room on a last moment phone call. Thank you to you and your staff for making our evening unforgettable. Oh my, the breakfast included with our room was exquisite.

Room Tip: Tuscany! Beautiful upstairs room, great linens, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thank you for the Bistro at Black Forest Inn for showing that there is more to the Black Hills dining scene than Burgers, Fries and Steak! The chef's vision is to re-create some of the European atmosphere of finding hidden bistros and pubs with great food in the most unlikely places - mission accomplished! We loved the Duck Confit, the gigantic king shrimp, salads and good selection of wines by the glass. Even rain and cool temperatures could not stop us from going back the next evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fabulous food & great service. Excellent king shrimp, ribeye, pork shanks, salads and more. Nice wine & beer list. Lovely dining on the terrace. Well worth the drive from Keystone.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TWPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We lived in England for many years and miss the foods of Europe and the small family run pubs and inn's. As we pulled up our prayers were answered finally someplace that we can fit in as foodies :)
Upon being seated we where greeted by our server Jackie who was fantastic and had great wine suggestions for our courses. When our starters arrived they were amazing, we had the Mediterranean plate and the Bleu Cheese Stuffed Dates wrapped in crispy Prosciutto and it was so good, the sweet and salty was perfect for the dates. My husband, son, and me Love Humus and Olives so the Med. plates was a home run. Our salads where great with two Cesar (love the use of capers) and a mixed green for our little man. Entrees were Duck Confit which I got and was just the way I like it fall off the bone delicious with a lovely sweet pomegranate sauce, chestnuts and beans. My husband had the Whiskey Steak which was so tender and just the right amount of sweet whiskey flavor. For dessert A brownie that will blow your socks off, it has a hint of orange followed by creamy chocolate and topped with espresso cream and roasted hazel nuts :) next time I am getting two......one to go for the next day! My husband got the cheesecake which was very creamy with a layer of white chocolate on top and real raspberries, yes I said real berries which most places do not use so this was a treat.

All in all we had a great time and it really made my husbands fathers day special and now that we have found this little gem in the hills we will be coming back a lot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
17.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
13.8 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
11.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23191 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota. We are minutes away from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood and Sturgis. We are just 30 minutes from downtown Rapid City and 45 minutes away from the airport. A homemade hot breakfast is always included each morning. In the summertime our outdoor restaurant, Musekamp's Grill & Pub, is open 6 nights a week for dinner overlooking the pines. We are open year-round and welcome you to our beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing