We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I search out Best Westerns since I can normally trust this chain. I was very disappointed in this hotel. First, although it was a non-smoking room, the rooms above or next door must have been smoking, because I smelled cigarette smoke the entire stay. Second, there was NO noise insulation. When the person in the room above me turned on the shower, it sounded like a jet engine. The noise in the interior hallway echoed and was so loud, any conversation was clearly heard. Add on top of that this is next to some water park thing, and you have kids running in the hallways yelling. I will not return to this hotel. The only good thing was that it was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastraveler22037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyMcCoy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for the note sharing your experience.

I want to start off by apologizing for your experience. It is certainly not our standard. Please always let a manager know right away if everything is not just right. We really want our guests to have a seamless, great experience. If we know right away we can make it right for you.

It is our genuine goal to exceed your expectations from the minute you enter the hotel.

Again, I apologize for your experience but hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely

Kathy McCoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Ramkota Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 831 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

Pretty much what we expected for a big chain motel. Room was fine, clean and appointed well. A few items appear to be getting long in the tooth but things weren't bad in all.

We did eat in the restaurant and had a unique experience. After ordering we were sharing a bottle of wine and I began to notice it was taking a bit longer than I expected. The waitress appologized and said they had a large reception but our order woul be out soon.

After another wait the manager stopped to appologize and said they were paying for our dinner due to the long wait. Since we were in no hurry and enjoying our conversation I indicated that was appreciated but excessive as far as we were concerned. If they wanted to provide a glass of wine we would consider it more than fair. They brought a complimentary bottle of the wine and later gave us a free desert as well. Although the wait was long, the staff did their jobs and were ready to provide compensation that was over and above. Unexpected things can and do happen to the best of establishments. All you can hope for is that your service provider makes the best of things for you. In this case they certainly did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyMcCoy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your comments; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to measure our performance.

I have shared your experience in Minerva’s restaurant with their General Manager and he was sorry for the situation but glad that they could take care of you while you were dining with them.

We hope you will be back again.

Respectfully,

Kathy McCoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Enjoyed my stay. Large room, new towels, super fast checkin. I asked for quiet room and was on 2nd floor with room opening toward atrium so got a good nights sleep. Didn't try the waterslide but it looked like fun. Free WiFi worked great. On the downside, no free breakfeast but there is a restraunt on site. Also no remote controls in the exercise room [which is a personal pet peave of mine ]. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TANSTFL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyMcCoy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you so much for your comments; we appreciate them so much. We work hard to provide a memorable experience for our guests.

I do apologize for the lack of remotes in our exercise room. On a positive note we recently updated to two new 42' Flat Screen TV's in our exercise room.

We hope you will be back again to try out the Waterslides. They are as fun as they look!

Respectfully,

Kathy McCoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, kids loved the water play area. Hotel was clean, cleaning crew was friendly and helpful. Front desk staff helpful. Restaurant was ok, not a great idea for kids. A little dated. Stay on 1st floor, saw many people having hard time getting luggage upstairs without elevator!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout_Mom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyMcCoy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Thank you for such a nice note. We are glad your experience here was great.

We collectively work hard to provide a memorable experience for our guests and love to hear when we have succeeded. We hope you will be back again soon!

Respectfully,

Kathy McCoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We had a few issues with maintenance needs in our room, but after calling the front desk, the maintenance men were there to help in no time. The maintenance crew and front desk staff were also very friendly. Our kids loved the play area in the pool. The area does need a little updating and repairs to a few features, such as torn plastic on the pirate ship. Overall the stay was a positive one, especially due to the helpful and polite staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superschoolteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyMcCoy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Thank you so much for your nice comments; we appreciate them so much!
I am so glad your experience here was great. I am so glad our Front Desk and Maintenance staff was able to help you during your stay.
Peak times are really hard on the pool area but it is taken down twice a year and repainted and any concern addressed. This next year we plan to completely refresh the area as well. Finding time to take it down without disappointing guests is a tough obstacle.
We hope we will see you again this summer!

Sincerely,

Kathy McCoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed here with my 15 yr old son for the 4th of July holiday. I was fearful because of hearing some friends saying that it was a loud hotel and that the bed were horrible. But that was not the case. I did hear some kids in the hallway but by 10pm it was quiet. The guest there were respectful of each other and made sure they kept their children quiet. The pool is very nice and fun if you have little ones for sure! Even my 15 yr old had fun! The fitness room was nice as well. There are plenty of resturants that are within walking distances if you do not want to eat at the resturant there in the hotel. And this hotel is only about an hours drive away from the local attractions - Mt. Rushmore, and Custard State Park. This is a nice hotel and reasonable in price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This property looks great and has many ammenities and the water park is a big bonus. But if you are traveling with a lot of "stuff" (especially with small children) be sure to get a room on the first floor. There's no elevator, there are many buildings, and it's difficult to get around. It's easy to get lost in this place, too.
The room was very nice and the people were great.
Minerva's Restaurant was great for breakfast (not included) and there's a very nice shopping mall just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthmfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to offer feedback about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N. LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing