We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“overall nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had plan to stay at BW Ramkota Rapid City for 3 nights as part of our US vacation trip. The room had been booked in advance via the travel agency, as we usually do.
When arriving on late saturday afternoon we were badly surprised by telling us that the room had been cancelled by the hotel, although we had a valid voucher in our hands !?!?!
Not a very pleasant situation on a Labour Day weekend when most of the hotels are completed.
Very, very special thanks to the receptionist CHERI, who did everything possible to clarify the misunderstanding between the travel agency and the hotel and could finally offer us the last available room. She was all the time friendly, engaged,professional and interested in getting us satisfied.
The hotel is a huge complex, directly located near the interstate, noise was not a problem. The rooms are of standard quality and are very clean, however some update would be appreciated.
The restaurant offers very good food, I recommend to taste the House Filet Mignon which was perfect.
Overall quite a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Daniela T,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are very sorry to hear about the reservation mix up but more importantly that Cheri was able to make it right for you. We will be looking into what happened so that we can prevent this from happening again in the future. It will be my pleasure to share this with Cheri as she deserves to be recognized for her excellent guest service and use this review for training purposes. We will also be very happy to share your review with the Minerva’s staff and the Chef!
Thank you again for your feedback and safe travels.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Jsimkins@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    207
    153
    78
    57
See reviews for
317
145
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a large hotel that is right off the highway and is conveniently located by some restaurants and gas stations within walking distance. There was nothing special about it but it fit the bill. We were on a motorcycle so we stayed around the back side of the hotel. The bar poured a pretty weak cocktail but the food was pretty good. Easy check in and easy check out. Reception people were very friendly and accomodating. Good parking as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dierdraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Diedraw,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Best Western Ramkota Hotel. We are happy to hear about your experience and thank you for sharing it with us. We will be happy to share your feedback with our staff and the Minerva’s team as well. This type of review drives us to succeed and we thank you for that.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Jsimkins@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located right next to the interstate, but you get a lot of interstate noise in your room. Hotel is very spread out so lobby was very far from our room. Rooms are in desparate need of an update. There's a waterpark as part of the complex, but it was closed for the evening when we checked in, and didn't open til past checkout time the next day, so we never even saw it. Hotel's wireless worked fine. We booked this room on another travel website that ranked it much higher than I believe it warrants. Didn't consider this a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
DaveMyong,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback as it is very important to our success. We would love to have you back to show you our hotel in a different light. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail I would love an opportunity to speak with you.

Please feel free to contact me at your leisure.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to hearing from you.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Jsimkins@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrieta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very pet friendly, clean rooms, providing everything we needed for a good nights rest. Provided area for the pets to do their business and provided poop bags. Beds are really comfortable. Loved the shampoo and the desk clerk gave me a few extra to take with me when I told him so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Flora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Flora G,
Thank you for the outstanding review of the Best Western Ramkota Hotel. We are very proud of our service standards and scores. We are very happy to hear you were able to experience them during your stay. Sometimes it just the little extras that can make a stay great!
We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Jsimkins@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
344 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This large hotel is close to the interstate, so good for touring the Black Hills/Badlands area. Access is via a Petrol station, which could be a bit off putting. There is plenty of parking. Reception dealt with us efficiently. The hotel is rambling, so I was glad we were on the ground floor not too far away from reception. I got lost hunting for the laundry room. The room was fairly standard for an American hotel and had all you need for a touring holiday. The restaurant was very good for breakfast with a good choice and cheerful staff. The restaurant could be busy in the morning as it was used by tour parties. It was also busy on Friday evening, but with local families. Food was typical for a hotel. You could walk to the Rushmore shopping Mall next door or to the cinema. However, you did need to drive to get into Rapid City centre. Updating would help brighten the place up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
OldieEastMidlands,
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location for all the local sites and the food. We will be thrilled to share this review with the Minerva’s team. We appreciate the feedback and hope that you will join us again.
We thank you again for the review and safe travels.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Jsimkins@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Along with friends, we toured the Rapid City, Mt. Rushmore, etc., etc., area of South Dakota. The last two nights were spent at the BW Ramkota Hotel which was many years behind it's prime. The hotyel was old and dirty. When people in the room above us flushed the stool or took a shower is sounde like a B 707 was taking off from the roof of our room. The breakfast at most BW's is free, but at this one you had to go to the restaurant and pay. I would say that this BW was the worst hotel of our trip and should possible be bulldozed and start over. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hawkeye1736,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. Guest feed back is impairitive to the success of our property and we thank you for letting us know. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your stay in further detail. I would love the opportunity to make it right for you.

Safe travels and thank you again for your feed back.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The motel is located away from the centre of town but is convenient for the Interstate which provides easy access to the numerous local sights.

I arrived on US Mothering Sunday so the motel was heaving with families having lunch at the on-site restaurant or in the convention centre. Despite this was checked in efficiently by a friendly receptionist who (correctly) pointed out that as the motel was so large would be best to drive round to my room...

The room I had been allocated was massive with a sitting area, kitchenette and sleeping area along with all mod cons. Noted that though some rooms had direct access to outside patios allowing their occupants to sit out, the rooms on our side of the wing were only accessible by an internal corridor.

Whilst there I ate twice at the on-site restaurant - Minervas - which provided excellent food and service.





.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluhwurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Gluhwurm,
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Best Western Ramkota in Rapid City. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sharing this great review with our staff and the Minervas team as well. We look forward to your next stay with us and you are always welcome here.

Thanks for sharing your experience and safe travels.


General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Hampton Inn Rapid City
#6 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Address: 2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing