We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Hills Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice hotel with a good location for visiting the Black Hills, Badlands and Devil's Tower.

Would like to make a special call out to the evening host Cheri, very personable with great advice regarding the area. Our trip was very enjoyable due to her efforts. Thanks again-

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Rick L,
Thank you for the great review of the Best Western Ramkota in Rapid City. We will be happy to share this review with Cheri. She does a great job and she gets so much great feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to having you back and you are always welcome.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 872 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and located away from the downtown traffic yet was close to everything that we needed. The room was quiet and well mainatined. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Note: there are no elevators to the second floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank S9070DVbrucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review of the Best Western Ramkota Hotel in Rapid City, SD. This is the type feedback we love to hear. We are thrilled to share our property with you and its great proximity to all the great sights and sounds of Rapid City.
We look forward to your next stay with us and please remember you are always welcome here.
Thank you again!

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Rapid City, South Dakota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our check in went well. Shaneyl helped us, and she was very sweet. It was late, and we were too late for the pool, but figured we'd get our money's worth for it in the morning. However.....The room was stifling hot. No big deal, we turned on the AC and got ready for bed. My daughter (5) ran around the bed in her socks, slid, and fell on the floor due to over an inch of water stagnant in the carpet. It soaked the only pajamas she had, and we realized that whole side of the room was soaked and useless space. The AC seemed to work at first, but stopped working in the middle of the night. None of us slept well because of the heat. We were too exhausted to wake early for the pool, so did NOT get our money's worth from that! All of this could have been overlooked, except that we were paying $140 for the night. This is a ridiculous rate for this hotel. There is nothing "special" to verify such a rate. The location is okay, but since so much of the mall has moved to the next exit, the location isn't even great. We told Jane about it the next morning, and she helped with a discount for the trouble. The customer service is great, the accommodations are overpriced and run down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Gina D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I am sorry to hear about your experience and this is certainly not an issue in our rooms. We strongly believe in making it right for all guests and I am happy to hear that Jane was able to assist in the morning. Although we would have been able to serve you better if we were to hear about the issue right away. No matter what time of day or night we are here for our guests and I have no doubt that we would have of found a more than suitable alternative to guarantee a restful night.
We thank you again for the feedback and may you have safe travels.

General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
Rapid City, South Dakota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel was ok. When I made reservations, I was told each room has a fridge and microwave, but they don't. The price is high for what you get no continental breakfast. The waterpark area is not very clean and you can only take the chlorine smell for a little while, poor ventilation system in the waterpark area. The rooms were fairly clean and nice sized.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kristi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Kristi E,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to the continued growth. However I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy our complementary water park. We often get great reviews about our pools and waterpark area. We are sorry about the miscommunication concerning fridges and microwaves in each room. It is only our suites that have them as standard issue but we do have them available for request for all other reservations. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and clean rooms.
Thank you again for the review and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I met a wonderful example of customer service this evening when I checked in! A super front desk person named Cheri greeted me and made the many miles I traveled melt away! Great people like this should be recognized! Thank you Cheri! What a great leader in customer service you are! Vic

Room Tip: Talk to Cheri!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Vic V,
Thank you very much for the outstanding review of the Best Western Ramkota Hotel and of Cheri! We most certainly do recognize superior guest service with all of our staff. Cheri constantly has fantastic reviews about her performance and we make sure she knows it. It will be a pleasure to share this with her and we know it will continue to drive that stellar service she delivers.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and our outstanding guest service agents.
Safe travels and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Ramkota Best Western on N Lacrosse St was extremely comfortable during our 8 day trip to the Black Hills this past Aug. 2013. Our room was clean, spacious, nice view of courtyard and the restaurant Minerva's is Outstanding! The hotel Is just of interstate 90 with a gas station convenience store a shopping mall next block over and other restaurants to choose from. The hotel bar is lively friendly and roomy. No elevator for second floor guests but the pool and hot tub are awesome. There is also a small water park attached to the pool area.

Room Tip: If you are traveling on motorcycle request a room with a outside view with your vehicle in the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtull54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

jtull54,
Thank you for the fantastic review of the Best Western Ramkota hotel. We are thrilled to hear about your experience staying with us. Our location right off I90 is ideal for quick access to all the areas greatest attractions even if you’re making it a one night stop or in for the long haul. All of our staff will be happy to hear about the clean and spacious rooms, and it is always a pleasure to share great guest feedback with the Minerva’s team too! Great room tips to share as well!!! We have 13 different room types, which offer a huge selection of options that will meet the needs of many types of travelers.

We look forward to your next visit to Rapid City and you’re always welcome at the Best Western Ramkota in Rapid City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is close to the highway and accepts dogs, the room was clean, but there was a problem with the toilet and it being fastened correctly to the ground, the manager quickly responded to this and was kind in dealing with it. the staff was nice and helpful. also not too far from Mt Rushmore.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criticaleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Criticaleater,
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Ramkota Hotel. Your guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we appreciate the time you have taken to write. We are glad to hear that the management was responsive to your needs. Our staff also loves to hear positive feedback as well and it will be our pleasure to share this with them.
Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to your next visit.

Jerrod Simkins
Interim General Manager
jsimkins@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $75 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing