We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family visit to Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Family visit to Black Hills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is quite dated and could use a complete facelift/update. The pool/waterpark is nice but not a full waterpark and limited usefulness by 8/10 year olds to the slides. No adult area in the waterpark side where the kids want to spend time. For a family friendly focus hotel, ie. waterpark etc. breakfast should be included with the room as most other hotels not do. The location was good as we did some shopping at the mall and locally in addition to sight seeing in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. You may be interested to learn that we are planning renovations to our guest rooms and areas of the facility. I apologize for your experience being less than memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    211
    153
    80
    59
See reviews for
324
145
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family, two adults and one child (8) was traveling over the July fourth holiday. We stayed three nights at the Ramkota. The room was nice and clean, spacious. The front desk was very helpful and polite. We checked out the waterpark and pool, they were just awsome! We had to convince our son that we needed to do more than just the Ramkota pool and waterpark. The location was just fine just off of I 90. The only negative point was the AC made some noise. Overall it was a very positive stay. A great family stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runamuk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGustin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. The water park is a blast, but I'm glad you got out to enjoy the Black Hills. I share the reviews with our hotel team, this will make them smile. Terry our Head of Maintenance will be checking out the air conditioner in your room to make sure it will be taken care of. Come and see us again the next time you're in The Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Traveling with large group, this hotel handled us well. One negative is the fact that the hotel is comprised of many buildings linked by hallways. It can be difficult to find your way around- ran into many people asking the way to the lobby or pool and waterpark. That is the only negative and we were able to overlook this small detail. Very beautiful facility and easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGustin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments for our hotel. It is spread out - I'm going to ask our bellman, Michael and Shay to stay on look out and help people find their rooms and navigate our hotel. We appreciate your business. Look for us next time you're traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Several months ago my family booked two rooms at this hotel. At the time of booking we requested rooms on the main level as two members of our family have mobility issues. Today when we checked in, they said that they were all out of first floor rooms and gave us two rooms on the second level. This hotel does not have an elevator. We found it quite annoying that we had to park, and then walk all the way to the door and stairs, then lug all of our luggage (three weeks worth because we have been on a long road trip), up the stairs then way down the hall; however, the major problem with this situation became apparent when the fire alarm went off. In the time it took for it to be turned off, the members of our family with mobility issues were unable to even get fully down the stairs!!! When returning to our room, we saw another guest staying across with us who had mobility issues as well and was still trying to get her walker out of the room! If this had been a real fire or emergency situation, these people may not have been able to escape the hotel. This is absolutely appalling and I can see no way that this complies with disability laws. We plan on making a complaint to the ADA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGustin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience while you were a guest at our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We have considered installing an elevator for the convenience of our guests. Even though it is not an ADA requirement for a 2 story structure we are reviewing our options.
We do our best to honor special requests, but with the many requests we receive we can only honor them at check-in depending on availability. I met with our team members this morning and we are developing a plan to be sure we have learned something from your review. We will be putting an action plan in place. I appreciate your time providing your feedback. Sincerely, Best Western Ramkota Team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luverne, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel! It's a bit spendy, but well worth the extra money. Kids, 11 & 6, loved the waterpark. I thought the water in the waterpark pool was warm, but when we got in the bigger pool.....even warmer! Room was spotless, only disappointment is the two garbage cans provided in our room were awfully small, such a minimal complaint! We'll be back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGustin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you - On behalf of entire team we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The water park is a blast - one of our best features for kids. I aplogize for the small trash cans, next time you stay with us let us know what we can to do to improve your experience and we'll do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved the water park. No free breakfast as there is a restaurant on site. We did not try the restaurant but we closed the pool down with 2 preschoolers. They loved it. Right off I 90, easy access to area attractions. Only 40 minutes from Rushmore and 1 hour from Wall Drug!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGustin, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much! We are grateful that you took the time to review your stay with us. I haven't been down the tubs in the water park yet - but one of these days. Please think of us the next time you're in the Black Hills of South Dakota. We welcome you back anytime. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is in a good location and there are abundant places to eat within walking distance. Outside of Disney, this is one of the most sprawling hotels I've been to. Due to its size, it is easy to get lost. After several days on the road I was looking forward to doing some laundry. There were 2 laundry rooms but each had exactly 1 washer and 1 dryer. Unbelievable considering the size of the property! Needless to say, I did not get to do laundry. Housekeeping was good except we never got replacement toiletries such as shampoo during our 3 night stay.

Lots of kids! Families will love the pool areas. The water slides were fun and we enjoyed spending time there after long hot days sightseeing even though we were without kids.

It was great for the price we paid on Priceline. There is no way this property is worth the 170.00 rate the people ahead of us checking in paid! We paid 71.00 and totally got our money's worth! They do have an attitude of sorts about the whole Priceline thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Hampton Inn Rapid City
#6 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Address: 2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing