We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing layout, but good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Erie, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Confusing layout, but good room”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western to attend a conference from 9/22 to 9/27. The room was clean and quiet, and the beds and pillows comfortable. The drapes effectively blocked the background light at night. There was no microwave or refrigerator in our room. The wi-fi signal was strong, and using a vpn was no problem. The HVAC unit worked well and was not objectionably noisy. There was no armchair in the room. The conference facilities were adequate, and the staff were capable and friendly. There is a pool, hot tub, and an indoor water park, all well-maintained with good hours. We had several good dinners at the restaurant, either through conference events or individually in the restaurant. The motel is just off I-90, and convenient to the Black Hills. The Mobil station next door offers a discount to motel patrons, but you have to ask for it in advance. On the negative side, this is absolutely the most confusing room layout I have ever encountered in a motel. Although there are maps everywhere, the layout is not intuitive or systematic, and many of us at the conference found it very annoying. Although the front desk provides a map, patrons shouldn't need one for a routine motel stay. Also, there is no elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, try to get a room on the first floor, near the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cohighplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We love to hear of guest experiences and are happy to hear that we were able to accomidate you. I will gladly share with our staff and management staff your comments on your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    227
    164
    87
    61
See reviews for
362
158
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge Area
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We traveled to the Black Hills with two other couples to tour via motorcycles that we rented from Black Hill's Harley Davidson. We chose the Best Western Ramkota because of it's location. The Ramkota courtsey shuttle picked us up at the airport and our driver(Mike) answered all of our questions about Rapid City and what to see and do. He also shuttled us to the Harley dealership to pickup the bikes. The hotel was only 20 minutes from the airport and about 8 minutes from the dealership. We had our room upgraded from a king room to a king suite and although we could not make the change until the following day it was definitely worth it. (Great Front Desk People)The rooms were very spacious and very clean. We ate breakfast everday at Minerva's which is right in the hotel and we had a couple of dinners there also. All meals were great. The hotel is close to the freeway so it made it easy for us to start our sightseeing each day. We had a few dinners in downtown Rapid City and the courtsey shuttle would take us and pick us up. It was definitely a plus for us. From the Ramkota we traveled North, South, East and West and it was nice to know that we had a comfortable bed to come back to. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite if you are staying more than one day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We love to hear of guest experiences and are happy to hear that we were able to accomidate you. I will gladly share with our staff and management staff your comments on your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room in the Best Western Ramkota Hotel was basic, but clean - which is one of the most important factors in any hotel. My one complaint is that the internet connection was lousy in our room. My husband contacted the front desk and they tried to help. He even took my laptop to them, and they were able to establish a connection - but it was lost again once he got back to our room. Through the evening and the next morning, I was able to connect intermittently, but seldom long enough to get anything accomplished. This was frustrating as we were trying to plan the next phase of our rather "freestyle" road trip.

We ate dinner and breakfast the next morning in the restaurant associated with the hotel. The food was pretty good and the service was friendly.

Room Tip: Be aware that this Best Western did not offer a complimentary breakfast at the time of our stay. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevermindCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank You for your comments on your recent stay with the Best Western Ramkota Hotel. We try to make each guest experience on to remember. I would like to apoligize for the trouble with the internet. I will be talking to our manager in regards to this and we will take a look at this area of the hotel. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were "road-trippin" for 2 weeks in the West and stayed mostly at Best Westerns. We were not disappointed with any of them. The Ramkota in Rapid City stood out for us. As we were heading home, after being in a log cabin in Glacier, we welcomed the site of this hotel! They were great at the desk and gave us a room in the back, as requested, to avoid highway traffic. The room was clean, quiet, comfy and had all the amenities one could want. We even ate at their restaurant, Minerva's, instead of getting in the car again! Food was great! This stop on the way home provided everything and more than we expected. I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We love to hear of guest experiences and are happy to hear that we were able to accomidate you. I will gladly share with our staff and management staff your comments on your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for touring Rapid City. We attended events at the Rushmore Civic Center and this was an easy location for that. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel was busy but we found it to be quiet. Being close to the Rushmore Mall and Cabela's was a plus. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one. We strive to make each guest experience a great one. I will share your comments with our staff and general manager. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Good location, decent rooms but it is next to a busy road and has loads of cars parked around the hotel. If you are unlucky enough to have a room on the ground floor next to the car park then this would be a problem. Decent breakfast but all in all we would not return. There must be better hotels in Rapid City.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and rooms facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terenceandwendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank You for your comments in regards to your recent reservation with us. We strive to make everyones experience special and are very sorry that we did not meet your expections during your stay. I will share with other management staff your concerns. We hope to have you as our guest again to rectify the situation. Thank You again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found our room very dirty...hair in the bathtub, had not been dusted for a long time...I had to dust lamps etc. Rail of the sliding door broken and filthy dirty. Our tub did not drain and we were there for 3 nights and the tub was never cleaned, as, the scum from the slow drain was always there. Beds were clean and comfortable , but keep your shoes on as carpet was more than filthy. Room sort of smelly. like dogs had just slept there. Very dissapointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the room and check for cleanleness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
First I would like to Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We strive to make ever guests experience a good one. I am sorry that your experience with us was not a memorable one. I will be speaking with our housekeeping and maintenance managers in regards to your stay. We hope to have you as our guest in the future to rectify your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
578 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Property: Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Address: 2111 N. LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing