We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few foibles, but great -- especially if traveling with kids . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family (mom, dad, and two kids) traveled to the Rapid City area to spend a week taking in the sights. We had originally stayed at the Americinn in Rapid City (see my review of that property), but after one night, went looking for a different hotel.

Before we changed hotels, I stopped in to this one and asked if they would show me around -- I wanted to see the two-room suite we'd be getting if we stayed, and the pool and waterpark facilities. The staff were hugely accommodating, and one look at the gorgeous guestroom had me hooked. The wonderful on-site waterpark sealed the deal.

The room: We stayed for four nights in Room 1114 -- a true two-room suite separated by french doors. Very tastefully decorated in the bison theme that prevails throughout the hotel, the very spacious suite had new furniture, comfortable beds (even the sleeper sofa was nice!), and separate air conditioning controls for each side of the suite, so the kids could have their room at a different temperature than ours when they slept. Nice! The suite also featured a kitchenette -- perfect for us as we would often prepare our own lunches for the road each day, and dinners in the evening, to save money. Oh, and did I mention the whirlpool tub? The room was clean and well-kept, and smelled clean and fresh. I would recommend that the hotel install some shades or blinds on the french doors, to provide privacy between the rooms as needed -- we ended up draping towels over them when we were dressing, etc. The kitchenette would also benefit from the addition of a toaster.

The facility: As others have mentioned, the hallways were a bit confusing, as the building appears to be several separate structures that were strung together over time. But it was nicely maintained and clean. I do wish that the security doors in the hall had actually locked -- they had signage to indicate that they do, but they do not, and anyone can just walk on in off the street.

Exercise room: Decent size and nice selection of equipment. No sanitizer for the equipment -- a big minus, and there were no remotes for the TV's, so they had to be set manually before you started to use the equipment.

Waterpark: Awesome! Well-maintained, huge slides like you'd find at a dedicated waterpark facility. Our kids spent hours in there, and I went with them down the slides. Water was a nice temperature in the waterpark. The folks manning the slide, who were there to ensure that sliders didn't collide at the bottom, could have been doing more watching and less texting on their phones, but all in all, the place seemed to run pretty well. The pool facility across the hall was nice and clean, but the pool was very cold, and my kids preferred the waterpark side as a result.

As a very nice touch, when we arrived back at our room on the last night we were there, the hotel had left for us a bottle of locally-sourced wine and a large chocolate buffalo, along with a corkscrew -- complements of the hotel! Admittedly, we had one of their nicer rooms, and spent four nights there, but I've never gotten anything like that from a hotel before, and it was a nice touch, and will be remembered.

Areas to improve: The hotel offers a "breakfast rate" for the room that allows the adults to eat breakfast in Minerva's, the on-site restaurant, for $5 a day (kids are free). I forgot to ask for it when I checked in, but we called the next morning to try to add it (we were willing to pay the charge for all the nights in our reservation), but were told that this is "against policy." Seemed stupid and arbitrary to us -- they're getting the same money either way -- what's the difference?

Summary: All in all, a nice property in a great location, right off the freeway, with attentive staff and solid maintenance. A very good deal for the money -- the waterpark pays for itself!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersnicketyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We work hard to make your experience with us as satisfactory as possible and appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback. In regards to the areas with a few problems we will be looking into these and rectifiying the problem areas. Your feedback will be shared with our management team and also with the front desk associate that helped you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Ramkota Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 831 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Great staff willing to help with accommodations. Reasonable price for a comfortable and quiet room. Easy access to interstate 90.
Excellent restaurant on site. We will return here as well as recommend this Best Western to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaster410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We work hard to make your experience with us as satisfactory as possible and appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback. Your feedback will be shared with our management team of the hotel and restaurant. We hope to see you again on your next time thru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had pre-booked our stay with this hotel through expedia, in which we had a confirmation number and the confirmation e-mail printed out. After driving 15 hours we arrived to a very unfriendly front desk girl. There was some difficulties with our reseservation booking not showing up in their computer, as the hotel had no confirmation of the expedia booking. The girl running the front desk was of no help at all!!!! She was demeaning, rude, and put out that we had booked through expedia. She did not try at all to help us solve the problem and left everything to us to try and solve the problem and work it out ourselves. She was outwardly rude by rolling her eyes as we tried to figure out our problem with expedia. Her only comment was "If we can't confirm the reservation, then we will not get the expedia price and will have to pay the regular price for a room. Other staff were helpful, the security guard offered us all water, and another employee let us use his cell phone to call expedia. After finally resolving the problem with Expedia and cancelling the reservation, we left and booked at another hotel of similar and comparable value because of the poor service and bad experience with the front desk girl. The other hotel laid out the red carpet for us, gave us the suite at the regular price because it was the only room left and treated us like the most important customers in the world because he knew we had travelled a great distance and it was very late. We will have to reconsider ever booking Best Western again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank You for your comments in regards to your recent reservation with us. We strive to make everyones experince special and are very sorry that we did not meet your expections during your stay. I will share with other management staff your concerns. We hope to have you as our guest again to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this location for 1 evening while moving to the midwest. The room was disgusting and not worth what we paid.
The service of the wait staff was outstanding. That is the only good thing I can say about our stay here. The food taste and quality at the Minerva was some of the worst I have ever had. While sitting in the dining room we were able to look into the kitchen and could see the kitchen staff preparing meals. As a chef I have a great understading of what it takes to run a restaurant kitchen. However, what I witnessed the kitchen staff/cooks, I can't bring myself to call any of them chefs, doing shocked me enough to make me never want to stay at a Best Western again. My dinner order was not difficult. It was a salad with sirloin tips on top with blue cheese and other salad veggies. I asked that the meat be done medium rare, it was well done. I asked for blue cheese dressing and got a side bowl of blue cheese, cheese. The lettuce was well past its serving/consuming life. It was wilted, and on the edge of being slimmy. Not appealing in the slightest bit. As far as the kitchen staff, well, I was shocked to actually witness one of the cooks chewing tobacco. Then he proceeded to lean over a garbage can next to the salad/garne mange table and spit. I watched him do this repeatedly. All while, who I assumed was the executive chef, stood there laughing and talking with the tobacco chewing cook. As people eat first with their eyes, we too form opinions on the foods quality when we see how the kitchen staff conducts themselves.

Room Tip: Save yourself the trouble and stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank You for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We strive to make everyones experince special and are very sorry that we did not meet your expections during your stay. I will share with other management staff your concerns. We hope to have you as our guest again to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here in July, on a road trip to see Rushmore. With the close proximity, the water park for my sons, and the resturant, you can not beat this place. It was clean and friendly and an amazing stay on our trip. If we come back through, we will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We work hard to make your experience with us as satisfactory as possible and appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback. Your feedback will be shared with our management team and also with the front desk associate that helped you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in Rapid City the night before we headed to the airport. The main reason I chose this hotel was for the (small) indoor water park. There are 2 160 foot slides that are fun for both kids & adults. The rest of the water park was very kid friendly. There is also a swimming pool & hot tub across the hall. We reserved a 2 Q room which offered a coffee maker but NO microwave or mini fridge. Our room was on the 1st floor which would have been okay but there weren't any chairs on the patio or a screen on the patio door. Didn't use any other amenities (if there were any). There is plenty of free parking & an on-site restaurant, but no free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor for privacy/safety purposes.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank You for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We strive to make everyones experince special and are very sorry that we did not meet your expections during your stay.We are currently looking into the situation in regards to no screens on the patio doors. I will share with other management staff your concerns. We hope to have you as our guest again to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I got very lucky to get a room at the last minutes at this extremely booked hotel. The front desk check in staff was very friendly and helpful, but not so much the next morning. The layout was confusing until you got used to it. The FREE waterpark is a great amenity and we enjoyed both it and the lap pool and hot tub accross the hall. The one warning is that the water slides are FAST, out of control fast, and I didn't go down either of them a second time. The pool attendant looked bored on the first day, and had a friend up there on the second day. The room was dated but adequate, but it had a huge walk out balcony. There is no breakfast to speak of, in fact if you don't get down to the lobby before 9:00 am you will not even get a cup of coffee. Overall a good hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank You for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We strive to make everyones experince special and are very sorry that we did not meet your expections during your stay. I will share with other management staff your concerns. We will be speaking to the staff also in regards to your experience in the waterpark area. We hope to have you as our guest again to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N. LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing