We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Hisega Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hisega Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, IN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We feel so fortunate to have found Hisega Lodge. Our trip was planned so we could revisit the Black Hills for our 35th anniversary, and our stay at Hisega helped make it our best trip ever.
Kenn and Carole are fantastic hosts, and Sheila is an awesome assistant. We felt as though we were part of their family. The room was great, the bedding was perfect, and Rapid Creek running outside the window was a lullaby. Fishing was really successful and fun, but don't forget to get your license online.
Breakfast was the great finale for our stay at Hisega. We can't wait to return to share this place with our friends.

  • Liked — The secluded location and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — We didn't stay longer.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsNewCastle_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    25
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
67
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at Hisega Lodge for two nights as part of a road trip through 8 states which started in Colorado Springs following the primary reason for our visit to the USA - graduation of the AFA Class of 2008 - and ended in San Francisco 3 weeks and about 5,200 miles later.

Our stay at the secluded Hisega Lodge was delightful and, thanks to Carol and Kenn (who look ready to jump out of their skins with good health) included the two best breakfasts we ate during the whole of our 4-5 weeks in the USA. One breakfast was taken at a romantic table for two on the wonderful sunlit front verandah and the next day, when there were other guests, our lovely meal was enhanced by sharing experiences with the other travellers.

This B&B also has the fluffliest towels imaginable!

Heather & Ian Westbrook, Australia

  • Liked — The food and hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airingourviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2007

A wonderful little find outside of Rapid City. A century-old lodge, rustic but clean. (Well, maybe some of the wall decor could have use some dusting.) The white-linen breakfast on the sunny, breezy porch was delicious, and the sound of the creek outside the window enchanting. The only reason I wouldn't give this place an 'Excellent' rating is that my mattress wasn't particularly comfortable. Other than that, this is a great little gem.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeOfDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2007

There is nothing more soothing than falling asleep with the windows open to the sound of the creek bubbling nearby. Less than 15 minutes from Rapid City, but you are surrounded by the forest and this rustic lodge is a real treat after staying in hotels. Breakfast is included and the weather was wonderful permitting us to dine outside on the covered veranda. The owner is a gourmet cook and the large breakfasts were the best I have ever had. The only drawback is the small size of the rooms, but with the veranda and signtseeing, not much time was spend in them.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank robinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
12.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
12.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.9 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,457 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
9.6 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 19 in Rapid City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hisega Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hisega Lodge

Property: Hisega Lodge
Address: 23101 Triangle Trl, Rapid City, SD 57702-8634
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hisega Lodge is a unique and rustic bed and breakfast located in a rock canyon next to a beautiful creek. The oldest lodge in the Black Hills, this property features nine guest units, each with private bath and private entrance. A gourmet breakfast is included with your stay, and the service at the lodge is warm, personal, but never intrusive. The lodge is conveniently located and close to area attractions, yet it is off the beaten path. Join us for a quiet and peaceful retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing