We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night was not enough...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hisega Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hisega Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night was not enough...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through and had reserved to stay at the Hisega Lodge in advance. The communications up to arrival were excellent and we were ready to arrive. Unfortunately we arrived fairly late, but Carol was waiting for us to show us our room (Lost Cabin) and make sure that we had everything we needed for the night. We could not see much at night but were delighted in the morning to see the surroundings. It is set in a little community next to a fast moving river. We heard the river at night from our room and it was very relaxing. I quickly got a coffee while my son slept and sat on the porch enjoying the scenery. Breakfast was a delight - stuffed french toast covered in a homemande blueberry sauce and scrambled eggs and ham, with a lovely fruit/vegetable salad on the side. It was too much for me, luckily my son helped me out. This is what you imagine the black hills to be like, far from the madding crowd in the countryside, surrounded by nature. No tourist attractions next door, but they are close by if you feel the urge. I can only say that one night was not enough for this wonderful place and hope to be back one day. Carol makes you feel right at home and takes such good care of you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
148
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Hisega Lodge while visiting the Black Hills. It's located about 15 minutes southeast of Rapid City but the drive is amazing. On the way, you will pass Canyon Lake Park, Falling Rock, and at least two or three deer. We saw wildlife every time we came or went. The lodge is nestled in a small canyon with Rapid Creek winding around a stone's throw away. Sitting out on the porch at night listening to the water is about as relaxing as it gets. Most of the lower level is open to guests. The dining room, sitting area, and reading nook are all very inviting and comfortable. You can look at their large collection of Black Hills books (or novels). There is water, ice, and often some local produce or snacks available. The rooms are rustic, cozy, and original. The screen doors squeak (as they should), the hinged windows let the cool night air in, and the thick quilts keep you warm. Homemade cookies were waiting for us on the nightstand when we arrived. Carol and the girls are like immediate family. Seriously, when you leave, you will feel like you should hug them. They are such sweet, sincere, and friendly people. And the breakfast! Bring your appetite. They use several local products and prepare what I call gourmet entrees. They are very fancy visually, have a variety of flavors and textures, and usually include what I would call a breakfast dessert. Like other guests, we usually skipped lunch due to our fullness. It takes about thirty minutes to drive to Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, or Spearfish Canyon but the lodge truly is centrally located. The whole area is amazing so your drive will be enjoyable. There are several caves, canyons, and attractions within 10 miles. If you prefer a generic motel with cold cereal for breakfast, stay somewhere else. But if you want a memorable experience that melds with the beauty of the Black Hills, the Hisega is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The personal service from Carol and Kenn, the relaxed atmosphere and the interaction with other travellers is what makes this place special. The breakfast is the daily highlight with all guests seated together and enjoying a different, specially prepared meal each morning. On the downside the rooms and bathrooms are small and the dividing walls between some of the rooms would appear to be paper thin, unlucky if you have a snorer in the next room! We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Crouch Line rooms because my husband and I were traveling with his mom. She is a gluten-free diet and Carol catered to her needs like nothing I have ever seen. My mom-in-law was blown away with all of the gluten-free goodies she got! On top of that, Ken had great suggestions for running routes (hope you like hills!).

We stayed for 4 nights and every morning was a different gourmet breakfast. There were lots of resources for places to go and things to do, and the view and location in the Black Hills were amazing. It was fun meeting other guests at breakfast and on the wrap around porches. I can't say enough about what a great time we had.

Oh, the rooms were very comfortable, very clean, and the bathroom was also very clean. Hisega Lodge is a great place to stay! I hope we can go back some day!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with multiple family members, the Crouch Line rooms are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver Spring, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found the Hisega lodge online many months prior to our trip out to the Black Hills for the Sturgis motorcycle rally. This would make the 6th trip out but our first time at Hisega. Prior to the stay, Carol and Kenn were the best at keeping in contact and answering any questions we had.
Well, the pictures and the reviews do not do this place justice. Hisega Lodge and the Hisega area were all we expected and more. Great accomodations, wonderful staff and Carol is a world class cook. The coffee and breakfast each morning were to die for. From what Carol said, she learned cooking from her mother....well, she was one heck of a teacher. Each morning was something different and wonderful. Those meals along with the clean, comfortable rooms, history of the lodge and the Hisega area neighbors made our week. We met folks from all over the US, Canada, South Africa, Scotland, France and Germany.
Carol and Kenn, we have a home to come to in the Black Hills. Thanks so much for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: If traveling in a group of two couples, chose room #10. It has two seperate bedrooms each with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hisega Lodge. The setting was beautiful -- tucked away in the Black Hills, a brook that can be heard from the rooms, and close to everything we wanted to see -- Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial, the Mammoth Site, Wind Cave, Rapid City, even Devil's Tower. Carol, Kenn, and all of the staff were terrific. And Carol's breakfasts were the best! She also took the time to make us feel at home, and she had lots of helpful info on nearby restaurants, sights, etc. FYI -- listed on Purple Roofs website as gay-friendly. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ethel room, a nice corner location on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrjrBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I used the Hisega as my bridal preparation location and then my new husband and I stayed for the first night of our honeymoon. What a wonderful retreat from all of the wedding planning! I was suprised at how close it was to Rapid City, yet felt so far away. The river close by was a lovely backdrop. Breakfast was amazing and Carol and her staff went far out of their way to make us feel at home and accomodate us. We will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
12.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
12.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
9.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
9.6 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hisega Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hisega Lodge

Property: Hisega Lodge
Address: 23101 Triangle Trl, Rapid City, SD 57702-8634
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hisega Lodge is a unique and rustic bed and breakfast located in a rock canyon next to a beautiful creek. The oldest lodge in the Black Hills, this property features nine guest units, each with private bath and private entrance. A gourmet breakfast is included with your stay, and the service at the lodge is warm, personal, but never intrusive. The lodge is conveniently located and close to area attractions, yet it is off the beaten path. Join us for a quiet and peaceful retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing