We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the free WiFi and recreational facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystery Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystery Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
SD
1 review
“Enjoyed the free WiFi and recreational facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

My daughter got married in July and some of my family stayed at this resort. All of us would gather here the days before and after the wedding to spend some quality time. We rented a cabin and it was so clean. The owners and staff made sure that we had everything we needed and always checked to make sure everything was all right. We went swimming in the pool during the hot days and went to the shower house to use the rest room facilities and shower and, it was just as clean as the cabin was. We will definately come back again. The entire property was clean, well kept and the entire staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Amenities
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patricia1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
64
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

This was the worst campground that we have ever stayed in. The owner was rude, inconsiderate and not helpful. I was comparing between two campgrounds and he was not upfront about the questions I was asking. He said everything that I wanted to hear, so that we would stay at their location. After making the reservation, I received a card in the mail regarding the cancellation policy and that they were charging $3.75 per person over 2 people. Be aware that there is a 60-day cancellation period (that is 2 months). This is unacceptable as there is always a chance of needing to cancel or change because of medical reasons, work or car problems. Most people do not know of their needed change 60 days in advance. Hotels and airlines don't even require 60 days notice. It was very difficult to get into our site (our RV is 31 ft). It is setup for rigs that are less than 25 feet. You are also camping right next to the highway. We heard highway noise all night long. My recommendation would be to stay at Rushmore Shadows (1/2 mile down the road).

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2campCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmresort, Manager at Mystery Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
We at Mystery Mountain Resort, strive to be completely honest with any guest or potential guest, when taking a reservation. Our cancellation policy is not only stated on our confirmation cards and emails, but also clearly posted on our website, in several different locations. When time allows, we also explain it to anyone interested in making a reservation and always state it when asked. We have nothing to hide and make no attempt to mislead anyone. Our rates are clearly posted as well and all of this information has been on our website and has not changed, in over 13 years. Yes, we require a deposit equal to a one night, base rate to hold a reservation. If we are holding a campsite or lodging unit for someone, it is not available for us to offer to someone else. Our cancellation policy is very reasonable compared to most seasonal resorts. Many require a 50% of the entire stay for a deposit and is non refundable for any reason. We understand that plans change and emergencies happen. However, we have still held a space that could not be offered to someone else who may have been perfectly happy with the site and stayed for several days. The camping page on our website also explains that we have several trees here and are very limited when it comes to accommodating larger RV’s. If the only campsite available which can accommodate a larger RV is in our front row by the highway, we let the potential guest know before the reservation is made, always. Again, we have nothing to hide and do our best to be completely honest with every potential guest. One the other hand, we have many return guests who come back here and stay in these same sites, by the highway, again and again. Because these sites offer an incredible, 50 mile view, over looking the prairie, all the way to the badlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

This was our fifth visit to the Mystery Mountain Resort and as usual everthing was great. Even after not having been there for three years the owner greeted us by our first names when we arrived. We stayed in a two-room cabin (G-13) which was ready for us when we arrived, clean, well stocked and well cared for. The pool and hot tub were also very clean. The food at the Mountain Grill is always good and reasonably priced and of course you can't beat the free pancakes for breakfast. The location is perfect for taking in all of the Black Hills area attractions during the day and having a nice quiet place to come back to at night. The staff are all friendly and helpful. It's a great place to go for a relaxing vacation surrounded by the beauty of the Black Hills. Whether a tent site is your thing or you prefer the comforts of home in a cabin you can't go wrong staying at the Mystery Mountain Resort.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jamaicanicemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We had a fabulous time. This resort is in a great location. No more than 40 minutes to all of the major attractions. Only 15 minutes to Mount Rushmore and right next to Bear Country USA and Reptile Gardens.
There are so many lodging options here it fits everyone and every budget. Everything from tents and camper sites to multi-roomed cabins. Free pancakes in the morning and great prices for everything else. VERY VERY clean.
The people running this loction are accomadating and very friendly.
Thank you for a fun and relaxing trip!!!!!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Teenagers helping out we rude sometimes.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
10.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.5 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#3 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
8.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Mountain Resort

Property: Mystery Mountain Resort
Address: 13752 South Hwy W, Rapid City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing