We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it so much we stayed for a couple extra nights”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystery Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like it so much we stayed for a couple extra nights”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location off the highway, covered with beautiful Ponderosa pine trees. We stayed on a tent site at the back of the property and had lots of privacy and felt we had a large enough buffer from the highway. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Campground and washrooms were very well taken care of. Loved the dollar pancakes! Made for a really enjoyable part of our trip to South Dakota. Quick drive to Rapid City for supplies and a nice jaunt into Mt.Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. Can't wait to come back with our kids one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyourouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
64
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed Mystery Mountain Resort. The staff was most pleasant and helpful. They have a list of family activities in the area that "aren't trying to screw people". We had a one bedroom cabin which had a full kitchen and a bedroom with two queen beds, hotel style, fully furnished. It was outdated and the beds weren't very comfortable. They had a nice pool and hot tub and my kids enjoyed the playground. They also had $1 all you can eat pancakes for breakfast. I would stay here again with our own RV, but we didn't want the gas expense for our long vacation covering the west. In retrospect we should have booked a hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you're getting with the cabins. We would have liked a couch or something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnyrendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We liked the place well enough but might have enjoyed it more if we had young children with us. They aren't kidding when they say it is a resort-there were kids running around everywhere with plenty of activities. The site is on a hill (Black Hills) and the pull through was easy enough for our 25-foot Class C. We had a full hook-up but the sites share a water spigot with the pad next door-kind of lowers the water pressure. The sites in front are very open to Hyw 16 which is very loud as everybody is trying to get up the hill at maximum power-ask for a site in the back. There is a camp store that was pretty well stocked and the resort does sell breakfast every morning. Other than that, it is pretty well outside of town so if you need things, you have to turn left across the highway. The restrooms/showers were clean but cramped for such a large camp. Good place overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classCrental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were here in a motorhome. Roads in this place to RV sites are rocky, rutted and on the steep side. After we couldn't level our RV at the site we reserved, office gave us one that was better, but closer to road with traffic noise and exhaust brakes from trucks beginning about 6 a.m. Sites close together. Price reflects close to tourist attraction. Not for big rigs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank 1947res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

From the moment we walked through the doors we were in love. We stayed in cabin G-23, the largest cabin they have. 5 bedroom, 2 baths, sleeps 14. The cabin was in great condition, from the furniture to the carpets, the dishes, the kitchen, etc. Everything was in tip top shape, made us all feel at home. Swimming pool was nice sized, with decent hours, though not exactly heated and a bit dirty but we weren't there to swim so this did not make a huge impact on our impression of the place. Pancake breakfast was totally worth the $1! No huge line and good food. My husband and I actually spent a little more to get the breakfast bowl, which was $3 for eggs, hash browns, sausage and bacon all in a bowl. It was very tasty. Resort is in a wonderful location, close to lots of fabulous attractions. We enjoyed so many of them during our stay. If we ever go back to Black Hills we will definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the one bedroom cabin. The cabin was older with a rustic feel! Very comfortable and homey! The staff at the resort were excellent , friendly and very helpful! Nice clean pool and git tub and it is open late! The campground was very nice, many trees and shady sites! I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This campground is a good location to many attractions. The people who work there are really nice. Bathrooms, Showers, and laundry were super clean !!! Will stay there again if we ever make it back to South Dakota !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnson53189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
10.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
10.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#22 of 51 in Rapid City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
11.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
8.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Mountain Resort

Property: Mystery Mountain Resort
Address: 13752 South Hwy W, Rapid City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing