We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place even if there was a storm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place even if there was a storm!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Grandstay in Rapid City, unfortunately we stayed when the biggest storm in October hit and we were left in the dark for a few days which was mother natures fault. Thank goodness there was a gas BBQ, the only thing I could say to improve this place would be to add a generator for back-up, that being said I would definitely recommend the Grandstay rapid City to everyone. We were with another couple, and shared the same two bedroom suite. Check in was easy and fast, the staff (Gavin, Steve & Lana) was most accommodating and very friendly. The room was perfect for our stay, we had the living room (with a TV) as well as a TV in each bedroom, the kitchen spotless, with clean and sanitized dishes in the dishwasher. The beds were most comfortable. The bathroom was good sized. Housekeeping did an excellent job each day, except for the days they could not get there because of the storm. The breakfast had a great selection that changed daily - waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, English muffins, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices... it could not have been better and an extra special BBQ creation on the storm days. The WiFi was strong (and free). I will recommend and ALWAYS try to choose a Grandstay Residential Suites hotel.

Room Tip: I found our rooms to be just perfect, we were on the 2nd floor at the top of the stairs and also at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWinnipeg_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel of Rapid City, SD. We truly appreciate the kind words you said about our property! We strive to have each and every guest experience a "grand" time at GrandStay! We appreciated your understanding during the biggest snow storm we have ever received in October. The grill did come in handy! Once again Thank you for your great review and for choosing GrandStay! We look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    137
    44
    13
    17
See reviews for
272
98
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a very nice stay in Rapid City last April. The staff was so friendly, breakfast was great, and the kids loved the pool. They had everything we needed. We would stay there again. Thanks, GrandStay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel of Rapid City, SD. We look forward to your next arrival, and thanks again for staying with us.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City,Iowa
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay when you are in Rapid City. I am in Rapid City at least 6-7 times a year for business and for pleasure. If I need a hotel I don't stay anywhere else. Very clean, good breakfast, great coffee. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rapid City. Very reasonable if you are not there during the Sturgis Rally. All hotels are grossly overpriced during the rally, not just this hotel. I had trouble with the reservation as I made it online through the hotel's website, they didn't have my reservation even though I had a printed copy, not a problem, the girl at the front desk was wonderful. Apparently my reservation had someone else's and credit card information. Could be a problem in their computer system, that might need to be checked out by the hotel, but it didn't cause any trouble for us as they found us a room.
Cindy

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. I like to stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwrkout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at GrandStay! We are happy to be your main hotel of choice when traveling to Rapid City, SD. Also, we do apologize for the reservation mistake that happened but glad we were able to fix the issue immediately. We truly appreciate the great review and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Grandstay in Rapid City. We were with another couple, and, as I had requested, our rooms were right next to each other. Check in was easy and fast. The room was perfect, the carpet looked brand new, the walls were a beautiful peach color, the living room (with a TV) was sweet, the kitchen spotless, with clean and sanitized dishes in the dishwasher. The bedroom (with a 2nd TV) was nice and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was good sized. Housekeeping did an excellent job each day. The breakfast was great - waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, English muffins, blueberry & poppyseed muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices... it could not have been better. The WiFi was strong (and free). If I have a choice, I will ALWAYS choose a Grandstay Residential Suites hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel of Rapid City, SD. We truly appreciate you making us your number 1 hotel in the Black Hills area. We look forward to your next arrival and thank you for your great review.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There was a miscommunication with the staff and I was overbilled. However, the manager resolved the issue and issued a prompt refund. His demeanor in handling the situation was excellent and I would stay again if ever in the area. I praise him for his professionalism and integrity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank You for your review we greatly appreciate your view on our property. Glad that we resolved your issue immediately with professionalism. We look forward to your next arrival at GrandStay and the Black Hills.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room and staff was wonderful; the room we stayed in had a kitchen and everything was very nice and worked well. The staff was really friendly and check in only took a minute, which was great since we got in so late. The Breakfast was cold. The TV worked well and did have Fox news.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on our property! We strive for each and every guest to have a great experience with us. We look forward to your next trip back the Black Hills whether its for business or pleasure, we look forward to your next stay at GrandStay.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beds were comfortable
Rooms were nice size
Kitchen was nice
Can into a dirty room wrappers behind couch stuff under curtains
They missed cleaning our room the first day
The fan in the bathroom did not work
Swimming pool very small good for small children
Breakfast was average

Room Tip: We had the second which was and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I want to apologize for your room missing service one day during your stay. We have taken the proper steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. We strive to have each guest experience a grand time while staying with us. We hope to see you again at GrandStay during your next visit to the Black Hills.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
985 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Address: 660 Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing