We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Nearby Hotels
$44
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$50
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$85
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
326
157
48
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
157
48
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand staybedroom suitebasketball courtfull kitchenblack hillswaffleshome away from homepool and hot tubwaffle makerdefinitely stay here againthe hotel is cleanthe breakfast areabadlands national parkdesk clerkhotel staffgreat place to stayhot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 561 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beds were comfortable
Rooms were nice size
Kitchen was nice
Can into a dirty room wrappers behind couch stuff under curtains
They missed cleaning our room the first day
The fan in the bathroom did not work
Swimming pool very small good for small children
Breakfast was average

Room Tip: We had the second which was and quite
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

I want to apologize for your room missing service one day during your stay. We have taken the proper steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. We strive to have each guest experience a grand time while staying with us. We hope to see you again at GrandStay during your next visit to the Black Hills.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room and staff was wonderful; the room we stayed in had a kitchen and everything was very nice and worked well. The staff was really friendly and check in only took a minute, which was great since we got in so late.

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms would be perfect for a long stay
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam115-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are glad that had a great experience at our property! Having a full kitchenette is nice to have in your room and glad you enjoyed having that amenity. Thanks again for staying and your review we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

During our night stay we received exceptional service- the staff was outstanding and the room was very spacious. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and had a lot of room- even for one night we enjoyed having the full kitchenette in the room with two privacy bedrooms. Great variety for breakfast items. Overall this is an outstanding hotel- we truly experience a “Grand Time” at the GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel. Thank you for your services and we will highly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing GrandStay as your preferred hotel during your visit to the Black Hills. We truly strive to have each and every guest experience a Grand-Time at GrandStay. We look forward to your next trip back the Black Hills whether its for business or pleasure we look forward to your next stay.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The woman, Lana, that checked us in was sweet and helpful. The room was beautiful with comfy beds. In the morning, however, we discovered that the bathtub was dirty (hairs all over) due to a slow drain. This was annoying but when I went down to the front desk to report that I took a shower in their "deluxe" room in shower shoes, the front desk person said simply "okay". When I waited for a little more than that, I got a curt "sorry bought that". The maintenance person came up 4 hours later. Also, a different front desk person watched me struggle to bellhop my own stuff through the front door for about 15 minutes and, even with no customers, never even offered to hold the door.

I called the manager to give them an opportunity to rectify the situation. I left a message and the same "sorry bought that" guy (not the manager) called me back and apologized profusely but only offered to take $16 off our bill.

So, in short, the room was beautiful but the service was somewhere between unhelpful and kinda rude (I have more examples, but I don't think that's necessary).

Hopefully, this was just a poor reaction to a unfortunate but rare problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frombrooklynwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review on our property. I understand you didn't experience exceptional service during your stay and I apologize for that. We hope this experience will not affect you staying with us again as we would love to show you our exceptional service we have. Please contact me directly during your next visit to the Black Hills. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Grandstay as we are planning a future visit for family and friends in Rapid City in the near future. Our stay was beyond expectations. Rooms were very clean, breakfast was good, and staff was very helpful. We also requested a tour of other rooms and facilities. The manager was extremely helpful and we looked at three or four different types of suites as well as a meeting room, pool, and patio area. As we reviewed the facilities, we could not help but notice that the hotel was well cared for, very clean, and all of the staff we dealt with were extremely helpful. We are planning all of our family activities around the hotel next month. The location is also a plus. We would recommend this hotel without question. Great job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seppynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing GrandStay for your family activities. We truly enjoyed having you and your family as our guest. Thank you for recommending our property to others as we want everyone to experience a grand time at GrandStay. Thanks again and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews