We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Pewaukee, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overall, the hotel was quiet and comfortable. The main reason for 4 stars is was that the hotel was quiet. My family of 4 stayed here in the 2 bedroom suite. One family member slept on the pull out sleeper sofa. The mattress was comfortable. The hotel was generally clean.

The breakfast was small, but adequate. We ate there most of the mornings.

The pool was small. When multiple families were using the pool, it got quite crowded.

Internet was spotty at times.

Relatively, it was a bit more expensive than we would have liked.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    132
    39
    13
    17
See reviews for
250
94
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights while visiting our son and family. We received a good rate since it was an extended stay. We liked the apartment type setup with a separate bedroom. I do think they need to update the televisions. Having said that...staying 7 nights, we received what they call light housekeeping.....any 2 days we wanted. We chose Sunday and Wednesday. Well Sunday came and went. On Monday afternoon about five o'clock I walked down to the desk to check into this. The nice man I talked to was very surprised that our room had been overlooked. He said it would be cleaned right away. After about an hour, he called to tell me it would be cleaned Tuesday morning. It was and then cleaned again Wednesday...we checked out Thursday morning.
The only other con I would mention is the breakfast. We feel it left a lot to be desired. I noticed the same bananas for three days....a darker shade of brown with every passing day. No sweet rolls....plain donuts instead. Jams and jellies seemed old to us.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and will probably stay here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing GrandStay as your preferred hotel in Rapid City, SD. Thank you for your comments as well as we strive for all guests to have a great experience with us. I apologize for the housekeeping mistake that took place as well as the bananas that were turning brown. We have made some adjustments to make sure we don't have any bad bananas sitting out for our guests and just fresh ones. Sorry for my housekeeping staff for looking over your room, glad they were able to get to your room on Tuesday and Wednesday even though your schedule day was Sunday.

As far as our TV's go, yes they are the older style although we are starting to switch those TV's our with new flat screen TV's. This process is taking place right now. During your next visit we should have all our new TV's in place at that time.
Thanks again for your review and for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel. We hope you enjoyed the Black Hills.

Thanks
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in late May 2013. The property is well kept and inviting. It looks like a southern mansion from the outside and upon entry you get the feeling of walking into a cozy living room.

The staff is friendly and eager to please. The room was clean and comfortable w/ lots of room to move about. My only complaint would be the outdated tube TV's in every room. They seem small and fuzzy. Other than that the beds were super comfortable and every thing was clean and spotless!

The complementary morning breakfast was excellent. The briskets and gravy was some of the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our stay at the GrandStay was short, but still very comfortable. The staff was very friendly upon our arrival, and gave several helpful recommendations for local places to eat. The rooms were comfortable, and clean, and had everything necessary for a short or long-term stay. The location is a little far back and tucked away, which makes it quieter and more pleasant. Downtown can be accessed by a quick 5 minute car ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites as your preferred hotel in the Rapid City. We strive to make sure our guests experience a Grand one. We pride ourselves on cleanness and guest services. We look forward to your next arrival and thanks again for staying with us as you were visiting all the great sites of the black hills.

Thanks
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a great place to stay and everyone was very helpful and friendly and very accomodating. I will be staying there any time I come through Rapid City and would recommend it to anyone. The breakfast was great with alot of different options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your response in regards to your stay. We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us as you were traveling to the Rapid City area. We strive to make our guests experience a grand time. We look forward to your next arrival.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although I only stayed one night, the room and amenities appeared such that, should I require a longer stay, this hotel would be good. I was traveling with a dog, so that they allowed pets was a main reason for choosing this hotel. The breakfast was good in the morning. The front desk staff was excellent, very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your response in regards to your stay. Our rooms are accommodating for long terms but we also welcome nightly stays as well. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, we strive on our customer service and making them feel at home. We look forward to your next arrival with us as you visit the Black Hills area again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were treating ourselves to an election night escape, and we were amazed from the walk into the hotel greeted "Hello Mr. & Mrs. Roth", and felt special and welcomed our entire stay. We only encountered the front desk check in, but was at eased with the care and importance she gave to us. "Any problems in your room, and I will be up to take care of you". The whirlpool room was spacious and romantic and well equipped kitchen area for cooking and glass wear. Very homey and comfortable. I don't think I have ever stayed in a better quality or equipped room ever!! If you have any chance pick this one, no disappointment. We did not use the full breakfast or pool area, but we did have visual pleasure of both sights. Thanks for taking care of us, to our hide and then elation to our Election Night Escape!!

Room Tip: Very Quiet, clean, and homey!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whendevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites as your Election Night Escape. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give your comments about our property. We truly strive having our guest’s experience a "Grand" time while staying with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Address: 660 Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing