We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$63
$46
QualityInn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$69
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$70
$59
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$130
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
325
157
48
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
325
157
48
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand staybedroom suitebasketball courtfull kitchenblack hillswaffleshome away from homepool and hot tubwaffle makerdefinitely stay here againthe hotel is cleanthe breakfast areabadlands national parkdesk clerkhotel staffgreat place to stayhot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 560 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were treating ourselves to an election night escape, and we were amazed from the walk into the hotel greeted "Hello Mr. & Mrs. Roth", and felt special and welcomed our entire stay. We only encountered the front desk check in, but was at eased with the care and importance she gave to us. "Any problems in your room, and I will be up to take care of you". The whirlpool room was spacious and romantic and well equipped kitchen area for cooking and glass wear. Very homey and comfortable. I don't think I have ever stayed in a better quality or equipped room ever!! If you have any chance pick this one, no disappointment. We did not use the full breakfast or pool area, but we did have visual pleasure of both sights. Thanks for taking care of us, to our hide and then elation to our Election Night Escape!!

Room Tip: Very Quiet, clean, and homey!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whendevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites as your Election Night Escape. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give your comments about our property. We truly strive having our guest’s experience a "Grand" time while staying with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My week long stay at Grandstay Suites was fantastic. The 2 bedroom suite was well appointed with a kitchenette and table. Breakfast was great, varied and amble with hot and cold offerings. The personnel were friendly, helpful and gracious. The Grandstay is well situated to hiking, the Black hills, Badlands, shopping and downtown old town Rapid City. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: The staff had great suggestions on where to go in South Dakota.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbhumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing GrandStay Residential Suites as you visited the Black Hills Area. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We strive ourselves on know the key locations to visit while visiting the hills. Once again thank you for your review and comments they are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next arrival at the GrandStay.

Thanks
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff were very friendly and accommodating . Breakfast was ok, but the eggs were terrible. The hot water pot was frequently only warm. The pool was on the small side, but the kids enjoyed it very much. The beds were adequately comfortable, and the hotel was quiet.

The room was small, and we had to move the bed to provide wheelchair access. The accessible room lacked a lever door handle to the bathroom, making it impossible to use independently. Additionally, the roll-in shower was too small to accommodate a rolling shower chair.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently made our first family visit to Rapid City, SD in late July. The primary reason for our trip (from MN) was to visit a local university (South Dakota School of Mines) for my son. We decided to stay in town because his campus visit started at 8:00. We made it a four day weekend so that we could take in the sites and attractions of the Black Hills area.

Overall, we really liked the GrandStay Suites. We booked a 2 room suite, which I thought was "reasonably priced" compared to other local hotels. Things we liked about the hotel included:
- We had our 2 teenagers with us . . . having the extra bedroom was very nice. Plenty of room, 2 bedrooms, plus living room plus kitchen.
- Free internet included
- Free breakfast included
- It was nice having the fu
- good service
- full size refridgerator
- Very good location right off main highway I-90. Shopping Mall less than block away. Plenty of restaurant chloices within short drive.
- About 30 mins. from most major attractions (Mount Rushmore, etc)
- My son & I took tour of local airbase/aircraft museum while my wife/daughter slept in/went shopping

There really wasn't anything major that we didn't like about our stay. The scrambled eggs at the breakfast may be one thing . . . but there were other choices such as waffles, cereal, yogurts, fruit, etc. that left us with plenty of good things to fill us up before we started our day.

Room Tip: We went for a 2 bedroom suite . . . great choice for families with 2 or more kids (the extra space was nice, especially if on different bed times).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millem365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I don't know what the regular rate is for this hotel since we stayed during Sturgis week. The hotel is not very old and has been kept up. Staff very friendly, especially the lady that took care of the breakfast bar in the mornings. They don't close the breakfast bar down right away so gives you a little more time to eat if not a morning person. Very quiet place and we felt safe. Right off of I-90 so very handy getting anywhere you needed to go. Newer area. I was a little disappointed when I got in the room and it wasn't as big as the pictures show on website, very small suite. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: I booked this room on the hotel's website and was able to get a better price then what any other offer that was out there.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meshell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews