We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime”

Happy Holiday Resort Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Holiday Resort Motel
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Past it's prime”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We camped there and I would not go back. The WiFi was OK, but the rest of the camping/Pool area needed work. It may have been great 30 years ago, but everything was in need of repair. They had fresh paint, but they need to replace the main Bathroom/laundry area. The pool had been repainted too, but it was pealing off every where. Playground and game area were old too. The location was good, but it needs new owners that will stick some money into the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WI_traveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We visited Rapid City, mid march in rented RV and found that most RV parks had closed for the winter season. The park was open, and we got a site that the water had been turned off for the winter but we needed to space. It was cheap, only $22.00 for the night.
As we were only in a small RV we used the toilets and showers. The toilet doors could not be locked, the shower/toilet block was definitely in need of a good clean and maintenance. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly for some time. I put this down to the off season but good cleanliness should not suffer. If another RV park had been available I would have used it.??.
There was good reception on the free wifi.
The pads were gravel and off good condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowhowtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel itself is a long rectangle facing the main road. However, we stayed in the camping cabins, which are a little further back among the trees. We had a/c, tv, table and 2 rooms. I thought our setting was much better than the hotel rooms. You do have to share the bathrooms, but that doesn't bother us, and they were close and very clean. The RV area was pretty too, and we strolled through it. Lots of activities to keep kids busy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I would never recomend this motel to anyone, the staff was very rude and inconsiderate. My family and I rented a cabin there and i told the staff that i would be arriving late. We got there and nobody was there so we had to go find another motel it was very late and we all were very tired. So the next morning we went there to see what was goin on because they already charged us for that night. when we got there the lady there said she was a manager and she was very very rude. we asked her if we could get our money back because no one was there to let us in our room. She then told me that we should have looked in the mailbox because the key was in there. I told her that nobody explained to me that the keys would be in the mailbox, she told me that that wasnt her problem and that everyone knows to look in there.So we got charged for a night and we didnt even stay there. I just cant explain enough how rude she was i have never been treated that way expecially by a manager. I would not recommend anyway staying there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Woodstock, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in the Motel part of the camp ground and the rooms were dirty and had lots of bugs. I must of killed at least 6 a night. Carpets were dirty also. Wifi was not very good. I would not EVER go back to this place again. Upon check out to return our keys, no one was in the office to return our keys back to them. We put them in the suggestion box because there was no where else to put them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

we called july 18 for the rally we didnt arrive till august 5 but was leaving the 12th got charged extra for the 13th i wanted to pay cash for the stay but they already charged me back in july i was not even there yet they charged me for a extra day i will never go back there again one employee said something about tips because i asked about a fire pitt i thought that was not called for i was going to tip them but not after i heard that i will never go back to happy holiday ever

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

convienent location but so are many other motels in the area. Paid up front for six nights but left after five. Fritz the motel/resort manager reniged on a promise of issuing a credit. Will never again stay at the Happy Holidays Motel / Resort in Rapid City, South Dakota.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNGerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
8.3 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
530 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#33 of 51 in Rapid City
326 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
299 reviews
5.3 mi away
M Star Rapid City
M Star Rapid City
#40 of 51 in Rapid City
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Resort Motel

Property: Happy Holiday Resort Motel
Address: 8990 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-6577
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best location for a Black Hills vacation! Small, intimate property away from city noise. Perfectly situated between Rapid City and Mt Rushmore, directly across Highway 16 from Reptile Gardens. Friendly service, AAA rated, free high speed wireless Internet access in all rooms, free local calls, continental breakfast. Full service resort, heated pools, recreation center, playground, laundry, groceries, and gifts. Also have log cabins available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing