We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; clean; just not exactly a "suite"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location; clean; just not exactly a "suite"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

When I think of a suite, I think of a hotel room where I can close a door and my kids are teamed up on a sleepsofa, and my wife and I have some privacy. While this hotel didn't deliver this, they delivered everything else.

Everything else included a great waterpark attached (for a fee), breakfast, a clean room, and a great location right off of the highway (but quiet).

This was a great selection, and I would recommend this hotel to families travelling with kids. Just don't expect the privacy door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    194
    119
    50
    54
See reviews for
331
143
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Marriott/Fairfield markets this property as having a 'water park'. They don't tell you it is a seperate business that costs additional $$ for each participant. The water park also opens late and closes early. My daughter was physically kicked off her tube on one of the slides by a teenager. My son also had trouble with older kids on the slides. Although the staff knew what was going on they had no control over the situation. The front desk staff was rude and disinterested in doing their job on several occasions. I have stayed at many Marriott properties. This is by far the worst I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylight4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Nice, newer hotel in a good location. Just a 25 min drive to Mt Rushmore. Hotel is attached to a 30,000 sq ft water park that is designed primarily for children, so expect a lot of traffic on the ground floor. We had a 3rd floor room that was quiet, clean and comfortable. Room didnt have a refrigerator though, which seems odd when compared with other hotels in this price/class range. Only two places to eat are nearby: Arbys and McDonalds, which was fine with us. The snack shop in the arcade had surprisingly good food and was relatively reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchemisttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We got to Fairfield Inn/Watiki after a long drive from central MN...our reward to the kids for sitting in the truck for the long drive. We got checked in and couldn't change into our swimsuits fast enough. The Watiki waterpark that is shared between the Fairfield and the La Quinta is fabulous. Our whole family enjoyed every bit of the waterpark. I, as a parent, appreciated the rubber floor---didn't have to worry about the kids slipping. We stayed for two nights and had a blast! (wish we could've stayed longer but the rooms were fully booked) The rooms were nice, the beds were heavenly and the hot complimentary breakfast was good, too. Thanks Fairfield, for great "Watiki" memories.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We had a very nice room. The hotel is modern and in very good shape. My only complaint was that the hotel advertised a pool, but when we got there they don't have a pool per se. They are attached to a very nice water park, but it costs extra to go to the waterpark ($12/person and $6 to watch)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonofAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We were on a family road trip and we chose this hotel specifically because it has a great indoor water park. We were definitely happy with this portion of our time at the hotel.

The stay itself could have been good, but there were a few issues that ruined our overall experience. All the issues occurred on the morning of our departure (we only stayed one night).

When my wife woke up, she decided to shower right away. Unfortunately, the bath tub drain was almost completely blocked. It was so blocked that 45 minutes later, when it was my turn to shower, most of the water was still in the bath tub! Since we were in a hurry to get going, I had no choice but to use the shower in its current condition.

We then went downstairs for the continental breakfast. The place was really packed and we had to wait for a little wait for a table to free up. I also felt that it was a bit of a "jungle" in the breakfast area (i.e.: people cutting in front of others, rushing to get to the food, etc.). I presume that I was already a bit biased by my shower incident, so any small annoyance was amplified.

After breakfast, I checked-out. I expressed my concern to the clerk about the bath tub drain being clogged. I politely asked how the cleaning crew could not even notice it since they need to use water to clean the tub. As I was talking, the clerk did not once make eye contact with me - I guess she was too busy typing. After I was done talking, she simply said "I am sorry that his happen and I will inform the maintenance about it."

We will not be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thed00r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my friends recently at this Fairfield Inn. The staff was very welcoming and showed us how to get around and which sites to see and which restaurants to visit. They had excellent recommendations and showed us the areas with local flare. Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing