We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice water park and ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Springfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice water park and ammenities”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I broke up our 1800 mile drive by staying at places like this for my family. The girls loved the water park attached to this and another hotel. The place was clean and located close to the highway. A very short drive to Reptile Gardens, Crazy Horse, and Mt Rushmore, although we left here and stayed down in Custer National park the next few days. Had a problem with a Marriout coupon as central reservations told me I could show the front desk the coupon when I arrived. This is not the procedure generally but the front desk took care of the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinotwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    197
    119
    50
    54
See reviews for
333
145
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great family Hotel that is located close to Mt Rushmore the Black mountains and all the other attractions of the area . Restaurant and swimming area(Water Park ) is great for families. There is an mid market steakhouse opposite which is also very good . Would recommend anyone staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Try the steak house next door . Its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

So I started staying here as a Marriott Gold Elite in November 2012 and the Staff is what makes this place great. Especially Nikki at the front desk, Kayla and their GM Chris W. All the staff are great but these are the heroes i remember most. I signed a contract for lower room rate due to fact I am here so regularly.

They are busiest in the sumer season but still maintain the brand quality amid a high volume.

A great improvement is during the winter of 2012-2013 they remodeled and I watched the progress every month, from new floors, to carpet, room remodels, everything is shiny and new!

there is a water park attached and thoughI have been here for work, it is a real family atmosphere as well. The food at Sliders is excellent. I always order the Salmon with steamed veggies and pretty amazing Salmon for South Dakota.

Can't recomment the Fairfield Inn in Rapid City any higher. Great staff, great condition after remodel and consitently a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: Ask the staff. They are great at giving you the best rooms when available and you just need ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we arrived the Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice and the beds were great. I will however have to say that my Parents room was good however, they had streaks of dried blood on the walls in their bathroom that were never cleaned. I think the housecleaning staff needs to be given inspections now and then to make sure they are doing their job. The water park was a blast. My children loved it. The only other bad experience was the sour and in the bad mood employee that was working the front desk the morning of our departure. He should be put somewhere else and not at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved this hotel! We had a two-room suite with two queen beds, and it was perfect for our needs. We loved that it had two televisions in different rooms - our daughter could watch Disney while we watched HBO. Beds were super comfy. The water park was a lot of fun! There were a couple of minor things - housekeeping neglected to give us a shower mat and Kleenex and the breakfast attendant was surly when I told her they were out of eggs, but overall, it was a very nice experience. The room was very clean when we arrived, it's quite tastefully decorated, and the shower was great! We found it to be very quiet, and we stayed 3 nights. Take out from Sliders was good, but nothing outstanding. Desk attendants were very nice - we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the hills and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we arrived at check-in we were given wrong directions to our room. I booked the room on a Marriott 1-800 reservation line, and was not told that the hotel was part of a water park complex. We had a long day, having spent the morning in Yellowstone National Park and late afternoon at Devil's Tower. After the long drive we were planning to get to sleep early. Unfortunately, there were kids running up and down the hall until nearly 11:00 P.M.. Breakfast was advertised to begin at 6:00 A.M. We arrived at the breakfast area at 6:00 A.M. There was no coffee and the cook did not begin to bring out items until 6:10. When asked about the coffee at 6:15, the cook said that the coffee machine was broken and a repairman was called the day prior. I went to the desk and asked if the manager knew about the situation. I was told that the manager knew, but no alternative arrangements had been made for coffee. Apparently, the manager did not care enough about customers to rent a coffee maker. We returned to our room to use the small coffee maker there, but the inside was dirty and the plastic lid and glass on the pot were covered with dust. Not wishing to perform voluntary housekeeping, we left and bought coffee on the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockysbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for not having coffee that morning. The coffee machine did go down and we had made arrangements for coffee to be brought in however it was late coming in. We try very hard to keep the kids at the hotel from running in the hallways that keep people awake and usually we are very successful, however it does prove difficult sometimes.
I have addressed the coffee maker being dirty with housekeeping and I am confident that we will not see that happen again.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed over Mother's Day weekend 2013. Bang for the buck you couldn't beat the price. The water park was a blast with the kiddo's. Then after they went to bed the "adults" went back to the hot tub for cocktails. It really was a great place to spend the weekend. The water park was fantastic, the room was very nice considering the volume of people who stay there. Three complaints..... 1st - Breakfast was weak, weak, weak. 2nd - parking is not great, 3rd - frontage road/access to hotel was not well marked from main road.

Here's one last comment. Our room was next to the elevator. You would think with all the kids running around that it would have been noisy. But, it was very quiet. Two thumbs up to the front desk police.

Room Tip: Based on how quiet our room by the elevator was I would say you are safe anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ride A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing