We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unfortunate review” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unfortunate review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked our stay at the Fairfied in Rapid City, SD by calling the number provided by the water park that is attached to the hotel. I confirmed that the package we were reserving included with our stay water park admission. I was assured that it did. Unfortunately we were mislead. I do understand things happen and I do not usually give negative reviews, but the management at the hotel as well as the desk service were terribly rude. They had no desire to make any effort to work with us on the miscommunication.

I said, "So, basically we were lied to."
Their response, "Yes, I guess so."

We chose to leave the room they had assigned to us (which also was not cleaned and had stained carped), my husband stopped by the front desk and apologized for all the confusion. The manager said, "Yep."

Very disappointed with the start of our family vacation. Moved to the Country Inn and Suites in Rapid City, SD. What a difference service can make. Owned by the same people in town, but the management was night and day difference!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 907momof3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I want to apologize for the staff being anything less than helpful and understanding to your situation. I am positive that it was not their intention to make you feel this way. I have since made sure that everyone on staff understands what to look for on the reservation screen to make sure we are telling the correct information when our guests call in and ask what is included with the room they rented. Thanks again for your comments on TripAdvisor they are a very helpful training tool to make sure this kind of thing does not continue to happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    171
    103
    44
    49
See reviews for
292
129
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had an early flight, this hotel was close. Room was clean and especially the bathroom (my cleanliness barometer). Staff was very helpful and polite. The grandkids loved the waterpark. The pizza at the waterpark was suprisingly delicious. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masmaspearfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The one thing that really stood out to me about this property was the staff! Yes, the hotel rooms were clean, and accommodated my needs, but the staff at this property was absolutely amazing! It's people like these that really make time in a hotel much easier (especially if you live in one nine months out of the year) Every question I had they had a pleasant quick response too, the breakfast lady was great and really started my mornings off well. I can definitely say that I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had my bridal shower/bachelorette party at the Fairfield Inn in Rapid City this last weekend. The room was beautiful (we stayed in the presidential suite) and the staff was very courteous and helpful! The room was very clean and well taken care of. The staff was helpful in directing our guests on where to go and in helping us getting everything up to our room. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms opening to the Watiki water park are very fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
336 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Don't know what else to say, but perfect. Room was great, laundry facility worked well. Waterpark was best part. Restaurant inside waterpark wad good, bar even better. Not crowded, run very well. Breakfast was good. Would definetly come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cipollavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lead, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took my nephew to the water park for his birthday and stayed in the hotel. We got a pool side suite it was absolutely amazing the hotel was very clean and the staff was accommodating and friendly. One month later and the kids (8 years old) are still talking about it!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adv950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a typical Marriott property. The rooms were very nice. We stayed in a suite for five nights on a spring break vacation. Everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful. It was great having the water park at the hotel. We would go do stuff during the day and then hang out at the pool at night. The boys, ages 10 and 5, loved the water park. The restaurant attached to the hotel / water park was very good and had nightly specials which made dining very affordable. It is an easy and scenic drive to Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park.

The only thing preventing this from being a five out of five was the breakfast. First, it was too crowded. Because it was spring break, the hotel was most likely at capacity. The kitchen was simply not prepared. They consistently ran out of food and were slow to replace it. It was also nearly impossible to find a table. One of the mornings we did find a table, the hotel has a very odd placement for an outside door in the eating area. Workers and guests were using the door regularly and it shot a blast of frigid air in small eating area every time making the experience quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningReverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing