We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecologically unsound, needs updating, noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ecologically unsound, needs updating, noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The rooms are not updated, like most of the Fairfield suites. In my room the desk chair was broken, and although I asked for a replacement it never came. Small potatos. Bigger potatos would be how bloody noisy the place is. Constant thumping proved to be guest just alking up nd down the halls. Noisy parking lot fight woke us up. Maybe time to work on that. Potato famine: the horrific lack of ecology in the center of one of the most beautiful states in the union Unrecyclable styrofoam plates, bowls, cups, and non-recyclable cutlery is inexcusable in this day and age. Cheap. The breakfast was below par, also for Fairfield. On the plus side: the front desk girls are adorable, sweet and trying as hard as they can. I would probably pass this place up in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suspect309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    192
    118
    49
    53
See reviews for
327
143
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

It was awful all the way around. The staff was downright rude and combative, especially "P", who claimed to be the "assistant general manager". They did not save the room we had reserved & tried to put us in a smaller one with a rollaway bed. When the bed was lowered, no one could move out of their beds. I believe that would be in violation of the fire code, as it blocked any entrance or exit even to the bathroom. For a much higher price they moved us to a bigger room, that was in serious need of some TLC. Everything was dirty, stained, and best of all, our A/C unit was directly above a smoking station, right next to the building, below us. The irritable "P", said she would come spray some air freshener in our room for us. That is so helpful with 3 asthmatics in the room! I also wondered if she was going to come every 5 to 10 min., or every time someone lit up. I thought the law mandates that one can't smoke within 25 feet of a building or an opening where another person might get the second hand smoke, but this place plays by it's own lawless rules! They have a different check-in policy than the rest of the Marriott chain, and they charge higher the rates from what is quoted by Marriott on the phone, and online. Needless to say we left, after searching for another hotel that was NOT owned by the same
management company! They immediately charged our card $640, the maximum allowed for them to charge, for two nights, even though the rates we were supposed to pay were around $150 a night. This is because we didn't give them 24 hours notice, and it was already too late to give them 24 hour notice for the next night, even though Marriott says to cancel by 4pm the day of! They also charged another $100 for who knows what, plus they still had the $40 from the reservation pending! So we were charged, and never stayed over night! Our credit card fraud department is going to be looking into their company, and "P", and checking into the fraudulent charges. I believe "P" deserves a "promotion" to the city jail for some lessons on anger management, people skills, fraudulent activity, values, integrity, & honesty!!! Those are all things valued in an employee, especially an assistant manager! What a nice welcome to SD! No worries, we'll never be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arm53m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
407 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Inn was attached to a water park so it was very busy Labor Day weekend. Still, the room was relatively quiet. It was a typical Fairfield motel and room. The room had a bit of nasty rust on the bathroom sprinkler system sprinkler and the luggage stand was broken. But otherwise it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopherhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here just one night. We had an early flight and this is the hotel the is nearest to the airport (still about 17 miles away). Got an upgraded room but still a bit expensive for the location. There is a water park connected to the property and signs asking younger guests not to run or make noise in the halls. Despite this we never heard any noise.

Staff was nice and welcoming. Great stay for just one night. Did not get breakfast as we left hotel at o'dark hundred.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed 3 nights (2 adults and our 3 and 7 year-old daughters). Originally scheduled for 4 nights, but had no problems canceling 4th night with no restrictions the day beforehand. At edge of town but very close to lots of restaurants (they gave us a list of 40+ within 3 miles). Room clean, small fridge, very comfortable bedding. I could not hear other guests.

Just off the interstate exit.

Is next to railroad so this was a surprise, but only heard it once - about 6:30 am.

The am continental breakfast was limited in selection but ok.

Of course, you stay here as it is attached to a good water park. Extra cost, about $15 each person for day including until 10:30 next day. Moderate amount of stuff and kids got tired of it after about 90 minutes, so good in am and in the evening after a day out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel using our Mariott points and I had great expectations, since this is a category 5 hotel. I wish we would have been able to get a mini-fridge as we traveled with an infant. The hotel, which is not part of the hotel, but right by he water park, stinks. The hotel service and breakfast is wonderful. If you would like to visit the water park, consider purchasing a daily ticket and maybe save a few bucks by staying elsewhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank _simply_my_2_cents_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmshorn, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

spent two nights while travelling to to the West Coast, large, clean rooms, with a fridge
No Pool, but we were informed about that while making the reservation, so the Hotel is
not really cheap
easy access from I 90
WIFI speed was spotty

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing