We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family to unwind after a long day of driving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We drove 10 hours and then stopped at his hotel. It has a wonderful water-park that the whole family enjoyed! Our room was clean, the front desk staff all very friendly/helpful, nice laundry facilities and a delicious, well-stocked continental breakfast. We liked it so well, we stayed again on our way back through Rapid City. The front desk remembered us and greeted us with smiles and a warm welcome. It felt like 'coming home' for all of us! We highly recommend it for families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parent082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Our experience with this hotel was awful! They overcharged my credit card which took weeks to fix, upon check-in we purchased 5 water park wristbands (they have an indoor waterpark which is extra) I was told by 2 different staff I would be able to use 2 one day and the other 3 the next day, however when the next day came they said no they have to be used the same day so I spent 54.00 on 2 wristbands and the other 3 we could not use. Needless to say we checked out a day early and it ruined our last days of vacation!!!!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank aborders32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAQUINTA-GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. However, my staff understands how important it is to clarify the pricing with out guests regarding the additional fee for full access passes. At no time did one of my property level employees tell you or your family that they had the option to utilize their water park package purchase on multiple days and I apologize if there was a misunderstanding. Each purchase is available from open to close the day of and the following morning from open until 10:30 am.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 605-718-7000 and we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We had a really nice room. It was clean and everything worked. The beds were comfortable! Loved being next to the water park The kids had a blast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shkurplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I was in town on business and brought my dear, sainted, mother, daughter and niece along. They had a great time at the water park. We especially appreciate the friendliness of the staff, especially Andrea and Betsy at the front desk. Andrea clearly enjoys her job and is good at it. We had fun guessing what the "M" on her necklace meant. Betsy directed us to Hana, a Korean restaurant that was the best meal of our trip.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank VonBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The cost was way over priced. They only pool they have you have to pay to go in. The rooms are okay in size. The breakfast was the worst I have had. Not much of a selection and the juice and coffee cups were so small you had to get 3 to make a real cup of coffee. The location was good. Hotel was clean. if you are staying for the water park check out sleep inn next door for a better price and drive across the street for the water park

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanneg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAQUINTA-GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

I am sorry to hear that you felt that your stay was overpriced and that we did not have a pool for you and your family to swim in. However, we are a water park resort location and it is peak summer season. I might encourage you and your family to visit us during the fall, winter or spring seasons and you will find our rates to be far more compelling.

As for your suggestion for one to stay at a neighboring hotel and visit our water park, that is certainly an option. However they would be forced to pay full price for their water park passes and would not receive the complimentary spectator bands (hot tub use) and/or the 25% to 50% discount off of the ticket price for hotel guests only.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

we stayed at la Quinta with my family for the fourth of July. first off no where on the website does it say that you have to pay for the water park(if you have more than 2 people). secondly we where on the four floor and could not get any wifi, i had to go down stairs and tell them that i could not get a connection even with my firewall off. and thirdly when we were leaving both me and my dad noticed that we had several bug bites...i have them on my hands going all the way up my arms and stopping at my elbows and it wasn't till after that we left that i had suggested that it was bed bugs my mom confirmed it by saying she saw a bug in the room that looked like one but she didn't know it at the time...also i have some bug bites on my neck and shoulder...i don't think that we will ever be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbieBeetle2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAQUINTA-GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

The Black Hills region has experienced a lot of rain and for anyone that has ventured outside at all during their visit (Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands, Etc.) may experience some type of irritation. However, with that being said, we have one of the most reputable pest control companies (ECOLAB) regularly service our hotel to make sure that we do not have any problems.

For those of you who regularly read the newspaper and/or watch the news, you are well aware of the fact that Bed Bugs are not a cleanliness issue and that they can be carried in on someone’s luggage and/or clothing. Therefore, the seriousness of your comments is such that I am requesting that you contact me immediately in order for us to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

You get a Water Park and Arcade, free breakfast, free internet access, clean rooms and friendly people. The place is close to many site seeing attractions. What more can you ask for!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank hoffpauirbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 49 in Rapid City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $50 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing