We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time staying - was much cleaner the first time!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time staying - was much cleaner the first time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the La Quinta Inn & Suites and I was quite disappointed at the cleanliness of our room. The room itself was dirty - the outlets were nasty and looked like they were never, ever cleaned. I was scared to even plug anything into them. The recent paint job was not good - part of the walls were peeling off in teh corners and look poorly done. Our bedding had stains on them, one in which I do believe was a blood stain. It was not large, but it was enough to make me feel quite dirty. We were on the third floor, right off the elevator. Not a good choice of room. Every person that got on or off, you could hear the "ding" of the elevator, along with all the noise the crowd brought with them. On top of the noise from the elevator, apparently the people above us had children that LOVED to jump off the beds. 6:00am it would start and not stop for about 2 hours. I realize that this is not necessarily the hotel's problem, but it was quite annoying, so if you're looking for peace and quiet, try getting a room on the top floor. Lastly, our A/C did not work the first night and the staff member that came to try and fix it was not real "professional" - baggy clothes that HER crack hung out of her pants when she was bending over, and just overall did not look clean.

Overall, I'm not sure if we'd stay here again. We were quite disappointed at the quality of cleanliness of this hotel. The first time we stayed here was obviously not this bad, otherwise we would have not come back. We enjoy the waterpark, so I'm thinking the Fairfield will be the one we stay at next.

Room Tip: Fourth floor if at all possible! No untamed children jumping off the beds, waking you up from the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites- Rapid City. I want to apologize that your most recent visit with us fell short of your expectations. I also would like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention what you encountered during your stay so that we may have the opportunity to rectify these issues. We would definitely love to welcome you and your family back to our property so that we may provide the experience we strive to provide all of our guests.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    200
    157
    115
    94
See reviews for
497
220
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beaverton OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 days. The second day the staff forgot to leave coffee, a bath mat and fresh cups. The front desk was nice and friendly. Good location with easy access to the freeway. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here while on a road trip. The hotel is conveniently located near I-90 and serves as a centralized location to both the Badlands National Park (about 1 hour to the east) and Mt Rushmore/ Crazy Horse (about 30 minutes southwest).
After a long drive, it was a relief to arrive at a clean, comfortable hotel that allowed our pet cat. The rooms were spacious and contained all the usual amenities. The staff were friendly.
For families, there is an attached indoor water park that is shared with the adjoining hotel, and a well-stocked game room where kids could earn tickets and win prizes. Access to the water park is available for an extra fee, but guests wanting to use only the hot tub received two free passes for that specific area. We found that the hot tub was actually a bit loud from families visiting the water park and heavily chlorinated (presumably necessary due to its high volume of visitors). There is also a restaurant connecting the water park to the rest of the hotel. We did not eat there but noted that it had many kid-friendly foods as well as alcohol for the adults.
As is my usual (and often only) complaint with many La Quinta hotels, the walls were not very soundproof, and we could hear many excited waterpark guests running from their hotel rooms to the pools. That said the park closed at 10pm.
The free breakfast was standard with bagels, cereal, a waffle machine, and coffee/tea/juice.
This hotel is probably not the best place for a romantic getaway but it is reliable and accessible to many South Dakota tourist attractions. Perfect for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Funk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great property. Staff is the best. Free breakfast. Attached to Watiki, the water park. Would definitely recommend. While we didn't need it to be pet friendly, it is. We had to check in a day early and they were very helpful in making that happen only an hour before we were to check in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gerrijellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Biking thru the Black Hills we stopped at this very conveniently located hotel in preparation for our trip to Rushmore. The trouble with impulse hoteling is that you typically get the rack rate which was very expensive in this case. This hotel was located just off I-90 and shares a parking lot and water park with a Fairfield Hotel. There are food eateries, gas stations, and shopping within eyesight of the hotel as well. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms at this property were a great size and were very clean and quiet. Though the two elevators to the upper floors seemed to take forever and typically had people waiting. There are many kids and local towns folks wandering thru the hotel using the waterpark and parking lot. I also found the breakfast area too be a little small and lack of choices for the price and number of people taking advantage of it. The bar area of the hotel is situated next to the waterpark and one of the water slides/tubes goes thru the bar so you can see the people slide thru the clear portion of the tube just feet over your head. Sorta neat to watch. The price for our food at the hotels bar was on the high side. Food for two, no alcohol was over $40. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place for its convenience to the national parks but check out one of the discount sites to reserve your room.

Room Tip: Not a place for you if you have an aversion to kids or dogs. There are many there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean rooms but noisy kids everywhere. Standard breakfast. Staff are friendly but inept. Decent restaurant -bar on premises. Water park in place of normal pool /spa. No morning or evening swim/soak. Pet area is smelly and fly ridden with rocks and weeds next to the highway. BTW, they put the smoking area there also. If you go on vacation for the kids, it's good. Not so much, if you wanna get away for adult relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabag00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites- Rapid City. I would like to apologize that your visit here with us fell below your expectations. Here at our hotel we strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests, and I apolgize that we failed to meet those expectations. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel so that we can have the opportunity to provide the excellent experience we work to provide all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Room service is provided by Marco Pizza, on-site restaurant. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing