We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More PET friendly than PEOPLE friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Made my reservation online and requested consideration of pet allergies at that time. I mentioned this at the desk after one awful night with my allergies and was informed that the ENTIRE facility was 'pet friendly'. I, too, am PET FRIENDLY, but just can't sleep with them. We endured the stay for one more day and then packed up and left. Overall, the place is nice and the waterpark would be great for kids. I was especially offended when I wrote to LQ and was told that I should have called the hotel directly to make my reservation--probably pay more, too! I cannot believe that a hotel this large cannot set aside a room or two for those who PAY the bill. Never met a Dalmatian with a credit card! Not too excited about the bathing suits and bare feet in the restaurant during dinner hours either but at least that was PEOPLE FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: BEWARE! If you have allergies they told me ALL rooms are pet friendly and no accommodation can be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Must place to stay in Rapid City! This La Quinta is a great place to stay. The fun my kids had was just phenomenal. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool is clean but there is no life guards, watch you children. Everything else was just fine without problems. Just had too much fun!!!

Room Tip: Internet is a bit slow, but the fun depends upon the parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and I visited this motel during the motorcycle rally! The staff was always helpful and friendly! The motel was an ideal location for trips to Sturgis, Crazy Horse, Devil's Tower, and Mount Rushmore. The breakfast was fresh and hot. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but it was satifying and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elwood B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here the La Quinta Inn & Suites-Rapid City. We are very pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed our facilities and our convenient location! We do hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Yes, this hotel (and many others in the Black Hills) jack up the prices during the busy season. We didn't really care about the $177 price tag, but if you're going to jack it up that much ($39 on a non-busy night) at least offer guests a one-day pass to the water park. Yes, it's discounted, but it's still pricey, especially if you want food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiekaboom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We decided it had been to long since we saw the familiar faces of our favorite getaway spot so we planned a trip to the beautiful black hills and our favorite hotel. It was so busy when we got there but the staff recognized us and got us checked in and off to our room really fast and with a smile. Took the kids to the water park right away to tucker them out after a long drive which works great but when we were ready to leave they were out of towels. Would have been a problem but I went to the front desk and they had some water park towels that they got for us right away. All in all another great stay!! Thank you Kayti and Andrea for taking such good care of us!! We will see you around Christmas!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmama_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the La Quinta Inn & Suites-Rapid City. We are very pleased to hear that we had the opportunity to host you and your family again here at our facility. We all look forward to your visit in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room was clean and it was quiet. Half hour drive to Mt Rushmore. Thereis n attached waterpark which guests can get a discounted rate. Free breakfast was just ok. Waffles, cold cereal, bananas. apples, limited pastries. Pretty crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here - spent a total of four weeks at this hotel for my business. The property is very well kept, and the rooms are excellent - what I've come to expect from Laquinta. The staff is superb - everyone from the front desk to the housekeepers and even the maintenance man are all friendly, smiling, and go out of their way to take care of you. It can get rather noisy sometimes - a result of being attached to an indoor waterpark and parents not seeming to understand that they've left the waterpark and are now in the hotel! I think the waterpark is also the reason that this hotel is priced higher than normal for a Laquinta. If you aren't interested in the waterpark, you're still paying a premium price for being close to it. I wish Laquinta had another property in the Rapid City area - I'm sure it would be less expensive and close to the great value I've come to expect from them. Still, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#12 of 48 in Rapid City
1,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $47 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing