We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Steele, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
“Nice place!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an enjoyable time at your facility. The manager was exceptional and the employees were very helpful. The visits were appreciated. From talking about the Black Hills, to the history of the Hotel Alex Johnson, and not to mention the Watiki Waterpark. Thanks for showing us hospitality and we look forward to coming there again! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoinetteH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    213
    165
    118
    94
See reviews for
534
233
62
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Clean, great service, comfortable beds. Only question is why the rates change at certain times of the year. Motels should keep their rates the same and not elevate then just because the are certain activities going on in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank lszabo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Good Morning La Quinta Traveler! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel! We definitely strive to ensure that we are consistently providing great service & clean rooms! We look forward to seeing you and family here again soon!

Sncerely,
Kayti R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay at our favorite spot for Christmas and we were not disappointed. It was wonderful. The lobby was decorated for Christmas and looked so nice. They amazing front desk staff even gave the kids candy canes. Kayti you and your staff are amazing!! Thank you for a great christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmama_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We always stay at this LaQuinta when travelling to Montana at Christmas. Checkin was fast and pleasant. We even received a gift bag for being Elite members, which was a nice perk. Not all LaQuinta's do that it seems. We appreciated that our room was close to the pet area because we always travel with our Boxer. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was always pleasant to us. Only downside was the "basketball game" that was going on upstairs until late into the night but with a waterpark hotel that is to be expected. It didn't bother us enough to keep us awake though. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Please realize that LaQuintas are PET FRIENDLY when you book. We always travel with our Boxer and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeakercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We Stayed here one night (Dec. 30). After trying twice to make a reservation directly, (once we got cut off, and the second time put on hold for over 6 minutes, and then I hung up) I booked it online. Location is right off of I-90. Check in went OK, fairly smooth. Room was clean, had 2 fridges??, beds ok, TV had good channel selction, but somewhat bad reception. This hotel is attached to the waterpark next door, which I guess it shares with another hotel. Most of the evening and early in the morning it sounds like a herd of buffalo is loose in the building. Kids running back and forth up and down the hallways and in the rooms. If you can live with it, you probably won't mind staying here. I figured the waterpark was included in the price of the hotel. Wrong. Add $7/person. Ok so I dealt with it. The best part (and only??) of staying here is the water park. It has a small lazy river, a good area for the smaller kids, and 3 big slides. The yellow one is not much fun, the green one is very fun, 1 or 2 people on a tube and includs a dark tunnel area. The real fun is the red and white slide. Again 1 or 2 people on a tube, but you start out on the slide, get shot into a big bowl, go round and round and then down thru the center into another slide and finally into the pool. I think I walked up all 70 steps 12 or 13 times to ride these slides and never got sick of them. My teenage son and wife loved it as did I. The bottom line here is simple: if you have kids or are a kid at heart you will like it here, if not probably stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor may be a good choice to avoid some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossHossZZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

What was intended to by a special weekend at the waterpark went wrong when we picked the LaQuinta Inn. Even though four maids were in the room when we arrived the shower was filthy. When a family member went to shower she found something that looked like fecal material or blood on the shower curtain and hair in the bottom of the tub. We were short of towels and didn't get more when we requested them. Then early in the morning the fire alarm went off when a transformer blew. This couldn't be controlled by the property but wasn't handled smoothly. Throughout the day we were told everything would be working soon and late in the afternoon we finally found everything working in the room and got access to the waterpark. Just to top off a bad experience the billing had to be straightened out. To do this we went directly to the manager but she was the only person on duty at the desk. I would have discussed the problem in private but she chose to stay at the desk taking phone calls while patrons backed up behind us. Maybe that was a bit of concellation since all we received was a very small discount. By the way we never did get towels.

Room Tip: Do go to the La Quinta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing