We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for the Water Park - If not there's better deals.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay for the Water Park - If not there's better deals.”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

First of all I don't usually stay at other than Choice Hotels properties so I can't compare this to other La Quinta Inns. We stayed for the water park for the kids!

Considering the sheer amount of foot traffic of wet kids, adults, etc., I thought the hallway carpets were very clean. The room was clean, but in need of maintenance, e.g., several chipped/cracked floor tiles in bathroom, minor torn carpet, that sort of thing. The room was also on the small side for a 2-Queen room. The front desk was very busy the entire evening but had 2-3 people staffing it so the wait was not bad. In addition, staff were helpful and friendly. We did not stay for breakfast so can't rate that. First floor wireless internet was fine.

If you are thinking of this stay for only the water park you may want to consider purchasing the pass elsewhere. A few locals in the bar told me they sell passes in town cheaper than you can buy them there, even with the "hotel guest" discount - I did not confirm this.

The attached bar/restaurant is OK. We had appetizers there but not dinner. Menu seemed a bit pricey for what I saw other guests being served.

Book as early as possible. I booked about 6 weeks ahead and noticed the price went up about $30.00 a night. Front desk confirmed this - earlier you book (I used Travelocity) the cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsiemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    203
    158
    117
    94
See reviews for
508
228
58
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Driving back from Yellowstone we were looking for a place to stay in Rapid City. I called 6 different hotels and Claire was the only one that I spoke to who seemed to want me to stay at her hotel. She was helpful and quick to get to a good deal. The hotel is nice and attached to a huge water park that the kids love. Turning in for the night we found ourselves in the room next to the elevators. It was very loud and the wall was vibrating. I went down expecting to hear apologies and regrets. Instead Sam and Claire had my family moved to a quiet room in less than 5 minutes!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelanoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The restaurant was great and food was excellent. Management was excellent especially Betsy and William

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
263 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed here for seperate two nights. The first night worth a 4 overall rating. The staff was nice and friendly. I booked the wrong night, and she just changed it for me. The room is clean and spacious. The breakfast was normal but not bad!!

However, the second one was a disaster. The new staff doesn't know that they have a paid shuttle to airport(14USD for round trip to airport). He asked me to call airport express which cost me more almost 40USD for round trip.

Room Tip: ask different people about shuttle or other services they provided with
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ypwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Pros - Location, water park

Cons - Filthy rooms with moldy shower curtains and hair/dirt behind bathroom door that was never cleaned during our stay. Found someone else's underwear by the bed 1st night. Halls were never vacuumed over 3 days. The only thing dirtier than our room and the halls was the breakfast area! Sticky floors, dirty tables... The breakfast itself was a joke as well. Filthy and poorly staffed.

Spoke with the manager shortly after our stay about the condition of the room, etc. She promised to send a gift certificate for future stay to give them another chance. Needless to say we have never received that.

This place needs help! Friends stayed at the Fairfield and it looked much cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here with my grand children. Was very pleased with reception and facilities. They loved the water park, and I was surprised and pleased that the passes to the park werre good for both the day we arrived and the following morning. The restaurant was good. The receptionists were the most helpful, friendly, and efficient that we dealt with in three weeks of traveling. The whole package was one of the best bargains we found.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGranddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,098 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place doesn't look very old. In fact, everything about it looks new. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very outgoing and friendly. It has a continental breakfast as usual and the rooms have wifi. In addition, there are two computers and a printer in the lobby for the guests to use. It is located in a complex which also has a Fairfield Inn & Suites. Between the two motels is a really nice water park and a restaurant named Sliders. The motel doesn't have its own shuttle and contracts with a shuttle service named Airport Express Shuttle, Inc. This shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us to the motel. However, when returning to the airport, there is no charge for one person but there is a $7 charge for the second person. The motel gave us a $5 coupon which was good at Sliders. We used it and the food wasn't bad. Anyway, it brought the shuttle fee down to $2. We've stayed at a lot of La Quinta motels and this is the first time that I've ever encountered a fee for the shuttle service. There were a couple of fast food restaurants within walking distance and, what appeared to be, a pretty nice restaurant. Not having a car, Sliders was probably the best option for dining.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing