We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Firehouse Brewing Co.
Ranked #13 of 264 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "The Firehouse," as it is called by locals, is one of the city's most unique and interesting landmarks. -Housed within the original Rapid City firehouse, a structure built of four layer brick in 1915, the building is listed on the National Historic Register. We offer a full service restaurant and bar with indoor and outdoor dining. Experience a vibrant atmosphere with live entertainment by local musicians in addition to live theatre most Friday and Saturday evenings (view our website for a list of upcoming events). Of course, the Main attraction at the Firehouse is our uniquely flavored, hand crafted beers along with a menu of the Midwest's favorite dishes. With culinary selections ranging from salads and BBQ to buffalo and gumbo, there is something for everyone at the Firehouse Brewing Company.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firehouse Brewing Co. had reasonable prices, a nice ambiance, and helpful table service. :) great food, too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    782
    407
    154
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barre
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great beer, college type bar..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location, great beer, ambiance out the butt..and the food cast aspirations of having a chef in the back someplace...it was good but it could have used a tweak or 2. Overall experience was excellent..and more importantly I had a great time. The beer selection that day was excellent, covering a good spectrum of tastes. No need to dress up, it's as casual at it gets..and it has a store next door for a souvenir of your experience, check your bill, you may get a few bucks off a tee shirt purchase.
I'm glad to see craft brewing is alive and well in the west...coming from Vermont, which has the highest number per capita breweries in the US I can say this one is very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patriotemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better Than Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm not sure it's up to the hype, but it was very good - I can't complain about a thing. My food, as well as everybody else's in my party, was thoroughly enjoyed. The craft beer selection is decent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ncroadtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

In a nutshell: The seaters were condescending, our waiter was indifferent, the atmosphere was absolutely nothing special and the food was terrible. The only plus was that there was a nice choice of beer. I suggest you skip this place when in Rapid City despite its street appeal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFCTReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab a bite and relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were on route to Oregon State Univerisity, and heading into Rapid City to see Mount Rushmore we needed to refuel. Stoped by the visitors center, saw this place and it sounded good. The decor and atmosphere was very inviting, good selection of menu items - sit outside if possible. Service was a bit slow but I am guessing after tourism peak is done they may scale back on staff. I would stop and visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing