We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay!”
Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Town House Motel
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly & helpful. Our room was clean and cool. The beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast had a nice variety & was always fresh and stocked. There was no coffee maker or hair dryer in our room but coffee & juices were always available in the office. We will definitely choose this place to stay if we visit again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
54
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ended up here on our way back from San Francisco (scenic route). For the area and the time of year it was well priced. ~$100 for a double. The room was clean and comfortable. Check in was a breeze and we had directions to Rushmore before we even completed checking in. We got the last room that they had. Peaceful night sleep was exactly what we needed to continue our trek the next day.

No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very friendly staff, but an old place that sits quite a long way into town. It shows a lot of wear and tear, but surprisingly had comfortable beds. During our stay it was grossly over priced (and was fully booked for the next 7 weeks), but, after all, it was August at the edge of the Black Hills, Mt. Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Monument, Bad Lands, Deadwood and the annual Motorcycle Madness in nearby Sturgis! Place was full of bikers, who stayed outside their rooms chatting until @ 10 PM and then went to bed, AND there was no cursing or rowdiness, at all!!!! (We're 80 years old -- obviously, not bikers, so, don't let their presence trouble you....)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank largeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for one night, 2 families with young children. As for other reviewers, hotels.com messed up our reservation (they gave me 2 single rooms, stating they could each sleep 4 - not true). The lady at check-in was very friendly and in just minutes upgraded us to 2 double rooms, that could accommodate all of us, at the same price. The rooms are oldish, but clean.
The kids were of course very excited about the pool :)
Breakfast was the best surprise: lots of fresh fruit, coffee was excellent, fresh bread and pastry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked into this hotel during high tourism season. We chose this hotel primarily based on price and Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We had one of the newly renovated rooms. It was tastefully decorated and very clean. The bed is comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. The owners are very accommodating and do little extras like keeping a cooler full of soda at the pool. The housekeepers keep the rooms clean and even put a "towel turtle" on the bed like they do in Mexican resorts.

This is a plain-looking hotel that is a real gem we would recommend to anyone!!


Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emedmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We have been in S. Dakota for 9 days and this motel has been the best accomodation. Great rooms, clean, very nice outdoor pool, friendly staff (especially Joy), and continental breakfast to die for: fresh fruit, juices, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, cheeses, pound cake, coffee and tea. Highly recommend this motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked online and we could not have been happier with our stay at this motel. The staff is exceptionally accommodating, welcoming, and pleasant. From our arrival and being greeted by "Brenda" in the office, to our send off by "Rick" who was more like our host for our stay, it was a convenient and pleasurable stay here. They were both extremely helpful on tips of where to eat - Yes, we loved the Firehouse Brewery, and Rick set up a very nice continental breakfast in the mornings. Would definitely make this our first choice should we return to Rapid City. We can thank Brenda and Rick for that, because we will not return to motels/hotels where the staff are not pleasant. The owner has done a great job hiring these two! Others we met during our stay felt the same. What's not to like about being greeted with a warm welcome by everyone when on a 16 day road trip!! Rooms are modest, comfortable, clean. Mini-frig, microwave, TV. Nice setup for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivLuvLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#32 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#23 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Property: Town House Motel
Address: 210 Saint Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2827
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel in downtown Rapid City. We have clean rooms, low rates, heated pool. We try to make you feel at home when you're away from yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Rapid City
Town Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing